We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tranquil retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doe Bay Resort and Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doe Bay Resort and Retreat
Save
You added Doe Bay Resort and Retreat to your Saves list
Star Rte. 86 Off Pt. Lawrence Rd. Near Olga, P.O. Box 437, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome tranquil retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in one of the small cabins, in late July (27 thru the 1st). The cabin is small but cozy, and fits in with the feel of the rest of the place.

The resort has its own garden which they use for many of the ingredients in the café -- which has amazing food.

The spa is generally awesome, but heavily dependent on the crowd. Some people I would look forward to seeing at the spa. Others I would think urgh that person is here again. But overall the spa was a hit.

The office has bocce balls, among other games to borrow to help pass the time when you are not out enjoying the spa our out on one of the local hikes (I recommend Mnt Constitution and Mountain Lake Loop).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    10
    17
    7
See reviews for
21
51
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Doe Bay is a wonderful place for a vacation in the middle of nature. The resort offers a large range of lodging options from places to put up a tent and yurts to cabins for couples and houses for larger families. I stayed in a small but comfortable cabin along a meadow visited by deers in the evening.

The resort is surrounded by nature unaltered by artificial glamor and glitz. Short walks around the resort can be complemented with hiking the trails of nearby parks.

The restaurant on site serves outstanding food made of organic ingredients from local farms and the small garden on site. The views from the restaurant are spectacular, the overall atmosphere is pleasant and relaxing,

The service is friendly and unassuming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My Dad and I biked out to Doe Bay from the Ferry and had a truly relaxing and memorable retreat. The yurts are little dream cottages on the hillsides overlooking the San Juan Islands and the Doe Bay cafe in itself is a destination well worth the commute. The hot springs, yoga classes and entertainment add a touch of something for everyone. The property is lushly forested and the resort has taken great care to minimize its environmental impacts. The place has an aura of kindness and I have been waiting for an opportunity to come back!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a yurt or cabin either close to the bay or on the bluffs for a more secluded outing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We heard about Doe Bay's weekly 'pizza night' and what a delightful situation it was. They cranked out the homemade pizzas (amazing), served up delicious organic locally grown salads (yum!!), and the beer and wine flowed. To top off this very fun night, the locals came with instruments in hand for open-mic night. We loved our trip to Orcas, but the evening spent at the Doe Bay Cafe was a highlight. Joyful and sweet. Thank you Doe Bay Cafe!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Doe Bay is my favorite place in the world. Best "glamping" ever!

We usually bring a tent, or stay in a yurt. Auklet is my favorite tent spot, but we've stayed at Lone Pine and Grebe, and all have great views. Neptune yurt is near the beach and Sweet Spot is really a sweet spot!

For sure, make a reservation at the cafe for dinner some night (chef's choice SERIOUSLY recommended! yum!), and if you can, go for breakfast at least once, too! Food is locally sourced (much of it grown in their garden), perfectly prepared, and can accommodate any sort of diet (gluten-free, vegan, veggie, or omni).

The community kitchen is perfect if you want to bring your own food for your stay, and they provide all the tools you need to make home-cooked meals.

The soaking tubs... Don't miss out. And don't bother bringing a bathing suit.

We brought kayaks this trip and paddled out to Pea Pod Islands, where we got to watch some baby seals sunning on rocks, which was pretty darn cute. :] They offer guided kayak tours if you don't have your own!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been going to Doe Bay most summers for the past seven years. This is a special place. The pace is very relaxing. The bay is beautiful. The food at the Doe Bay Cafe is excellent, amongst the best I have had, specializing in local, organic, with many ingredients coming from the Doe Bay Garden. The service at Doe Bay is friendly and can, at times, earn it the nick name "Slow Bay" but that is part of the charm. We have stayed in the more historical and the more modern cabins, as well as camped on the bluff, but haven't tried the yurts (yet). I always leave Doe Bay feeling refreshed, and wishing I could stay just one night more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went here for breakfast/brunch this last weekend. The deck overlooked a very clear bay and it was beautiful weather and the view was wonderful. We first ordered the crab tacos which sounded amazing but they were out. I ordered the breakfast burrito but they were also out of that also. So we ended up getting the cinnamon french toast and the gravlox breakfast. Both were excellent, probably one of the best breakfasts I've eaten. Sercice was friendly. The little store next to the restuarant sold organic products. One of the things I like best about Doe Bay was that everything is natural, organic, and local. Very good food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olga
10.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
13.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
8.1 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
13.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doe Bay Resort and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doe Bay Resort and Retreat

Address: Star Rte. 86 Off Pt. Lawrence Rd. Near Olga, P.O. Box 437, Olga, Orcas Island, WA 98279
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Olga
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Doe Bay Resort And Retreat Hotel Olga
Doe Bay Hotel And Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe Bay Resort and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.