We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Polynesian Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bremerton, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First off, we drove 3 hours to Pacific Beach the night of Aug 14 thinking we had a reservation at one of the local hotels. We got there and said that we have no reservation and that they had booked it a week later. The man at that hotel was rude and didn't even help us find another place to stay at 1130 at night in the middle of nowhere. Thank goodness me and my family travel alot and knew about Ocean Shores. We called the Polynesian and thankfully they had a room available and accepted pets. The lady who answered the phone was very nice and got us in no problem. We got a 1 bedroom unit on the second floor which was beautiful! It had 2 queen beds in the room and a queen sofa sleeper in the living room, a full kitchen with everything in it, dining area and balcony. They do have a daily complimentary continental breakfast with cereals, juices, coffee, tea, pastries, and waffles. They also have an indoor pool, video arcade, pool table, and pet area. I've always been told that things happen for a reason. Well, I know that to be true since we weren't supposed to stay at that hotel in Pacific Beach. We were led to this place which was the better choice! Glad we were routed here instead. Would definetly stay here again! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your recent experience at The Polynesian Resort. We take great pride in accommodating our guests and I’m pleased we had a room available for you on short notice. As you discovered, we have a variety of suites to suit the needs and budgets of most guests including many great amenities to ensure everyone in your party has an enjoyable stay. We’ll look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next visit to Ocean Shores.

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We come to Ocean Shores as a large group and wish to have a full kitchen...the two bedroom units help us sleep all giving us extra room. Staff was helpful and the stay was refreshing. The children with us were ages 3 to 16 and they all had something to keep them busy...on the beach, in town and around or in the pool. Breakfast on the weekdays was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed during the weekend of June 21 through the 23rd, and it was amazing! When we checked in, Ken at the front desk was brimming forth with knowledge on the resort and the city we were staying in. He asked us about our kids so as to give us ideas of activities to keep them occupied. It was wonderful to find someone so interested in making our weekend spectacular! The Polynesian offers pet rooms which I thought was great, although we did not bring a pet. The suite was beautiful and fully equipped to handle our little family. The options the hotel had for us was the cherry on top. From a make-your-own waffle breakfast, to renting brand new movies from the lobby, to a park just outside, minutes away (walking) to the beach, to the pool, sauna, and hot tub...the list goes on! I thought it was especially endearing to have a children's guest book in our suite, so that our kids could tell others of their experience too!
I have to also mention we came on a weekend that Ocean Shores was having The Sand and Sawdust Festival and the town was packed!! I was told the hotel was completely booked, however we never saw any of the staff without a smile or kind word. Once we were done with the chaos of downtown it was so relaxing to go back to the hotel and enjoy their pool and park for the rest of the day. The Polynesian made this the ideal get away weekend for my family! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We strive to please all of our guests and it’s nice to be appreciated. We have many great amenities here at The Polynesian and it sounds like your family was able to enjoy many of them. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit to Ocean Shores!

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I will start with the good points about this hotel...the view is really nice, you get a balcony, and if you are a pet lover they let you bring your dog. We didn't bring a dog but we did like seeing the two labs that were on the balcony next door. There wasn't and issue with noise for us.

That is pretty much where it ends. The beds are not very comfortable, the pillows were flat, the linens are old, the rooms are very dated, and the hotel associated with the restaurant was a last resort for us.

If I could give this hotel 2.5 stars I would. If you are on a budget and want to save money on vacation by cooking in your room you could. The rooms have cook tops so you could just bring food for your self. The staff are very kind but I feel like they cheat you by not doing breakfast on the weekends. You are forced to eat at the casino, McDonalds, or the restaurant just outside of the hotel. The "buffet" is really just the kind of food you would eat at camp when you were a kid. I am positive everything either comes from a can or is heat and serve.

We only stayed here because some friends invited us and this was the location they booked before hand. If I am in the area again I will stay at another location where the beds are more comfortable and the decor and bedding is from the current decade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your balcony and many guests do enjoy the fact that we are pet friendly. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your bed as we have pillow top mattresses in all of our rooms and continue to upgrade each year . New linens and pillows are purchased twice a year and the old ones donated to the local animal shelter. While you indicate your unit had a cooktop, most of our suites offer a full kitchen. We actually do offer the continental breakfast Mon-Sat and our on-site restaurant offers a family oriented breakfast buffet every Sunday, made fresh from our kitchen, that is very popular with our guests and local residents.

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is one of the better hotels to stay at while in Ocean Shores, but they need to do some updating. I been staying here off and on for 20+ years and not much has changed. We continue to stay because of the amenities. The kitchenettes are very nice to have though I wish they were stocked a little better with pots and pans. It makes cooking interesting sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve upon our guest experience. We work towards updating our property every year by purchasing new beds, furniture, televisions, tile flooring, new counter tops and carpet. Our guests really do enjoy having kitchens in their rooms. Pots and pans are generally included in our standard kitchen inventory. If there is something missing you are always welcome to call the desk and have it delivered to your room. We look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to Ocean Shores.

Thank you-
Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed from April 11th-13th, the room was very functional, and hotel is located near everything. The room was spacious and allowed us to have our dog, which is helpful as he is part of the family. The bathrooms could really use some work. There was a sunken spot on the floor near the tub, It gives you almost vertigo to stand up in that room as the floor is sinking in the master bathroom. One night there was noise from the floor above us, and some noise in the hallway, but other than that, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, but the rooms are dated and some structural problems with the bathroom subfloor were ignored by the owners.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has never been a smoking room. Some of the rooms have residual odor from when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

For a beach hotel in a small beach town this place is pretty good overall. The hotel has obviously been here for some time and shows some wear. My room on the third floor had a leak from all the rain in the area - just inside the sliding glass door. The staff was aware of it and they had placed a towel in the track of the door to soak up the water. The beach environment can be pretty tough on structures, so this was no surprise having stayed in many such hotels over the years.
The leak didn't bother me, but the rock hard king bed did result in difficulty sleeping. That bed had to be one of the worst I have ever been subjected to - it was like sleeping on a piece of plywood. The room itself was very clean and well appointed for a beach hotel. Staff members I spoke to were very helpful and respectful. The conference room our car club used for a meeting was just fine. The attached restaurant also served decent food and had great service with very upbeat attentive waiters. The Wi-Fi worked great and parking is free. They offer a daily continental breakfast, which was pretty typical of say a Best Western or Comfort Inn.

In my view this is an average beach hotel and for families visiting the beach nearby this is probably a good place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating which is a big plus in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top (3rd) floor have the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonVVA, General Manager at Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Polynesian Resort. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and those are coming along well. We did experience a significant storm during your stay and you’re exactly right, these conditions can impact the physical integrity of the oceanfront buildings from time to time.

I was sorry to hear about your experience with the bed. Many of our beds have been recently replaced. Please never hesitate to let our staff know if something isn’t to your satisfaction so we can move you to a room that will better suit your needs. I really appreciate the nice comments regarding our staff. They truly work hard to provide excellent service and take great care of our customers. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Tate Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort

Address: 615 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Polynesian Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian Resort, located on the beach in beautiful Ocean Shores, Washington, is the state's most visited seaside destination. The Polynesian, one of the city's favorite resorts, has exceptional oceanfront and ocean view lodging choices for you and your family and more amenities than any other hotel around. You can enjoy our sparkling clear indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, complimentary wi-fi, a game room with pool table and a wonderful outdoor private park with basketball, volleyball and picnic facilities. You'll find our on-site restaurant and lounge, Mariah's, the finest on Washington's central coast. Mariah's is well-known for its succulent seafood, prime rib and steaks cooked to perfection and savory pasta. Mariah's is open every day for dinner and also for a delicious Sunday Breakfast Buffet. The Polynesian Resort on Washington's Central Coast is where family fun and relaxation begins. With miles of sandy beaches, plenty of local shopping and parks, golf and more, you will never run out of things to do during your coast getaway at The Polynesian Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Ocean Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.