We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay

Galway Bay
880 Point Brown Ave NE, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
360-289-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Fox Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Had dinner during the off season. Not many patrons, but a good attentive wait staff. Had their Guinness stew and it was fabulous. Had some traditional appetizers also and all the food was great. Great atmosphere and felt like it was just like a traditional pun in Ireland. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    73
    28
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food, great shopping, and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Cousins suggested this restaurant so we went as a party of four. The gift shop was amazing, loved the Irish offerings here. The restaurant service was great, and the food was wonderful. The beer was pretty good too! We were there too early in the evening for the entertainment, but we still enjoyed the super service from our friendly waiter. We all had the Shepherd's Pie, and all remarked on how tasty it was. I would go here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had dinner here the other night, and liked the food so much that we ordered take-out pizza the next evening. Yes, they are an Irish pub/restaurant, but also had take-out. Very clean, good food and service, great beers and ales, of course! Bangers & Mash and Fish/Salad dinners were very good, and the soda bread - yum!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
2 reviews
“Always a great meal to be found here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We've come here both times we've been to ocean shores. The service is great, the house beer is fantastic, and the Irish food is GOOD. The pasties are really filling and the whiskey cream sauce is delicious. Got the artichoke crab dip as an appetizer, and it was terrific as well. It would be nice if they had a couple more Irish dishes for kids, but that's just being nit-picky. I'm happy to see him inhale his mac and cheese.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Take Care of the Customers You Have”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My spouse and I went to Galway Bay last Friday and Saturday nights. Our main purpose was to see Maggie's Fury, a band from Bellingham which plays mainly Irish music. The music was good, but the restaurant's hospitality left something to be desired. In their effort to maximize their income, the management wanted to preserve the good tables for guests that were not there at the expense of the guests who were there. That is, if the management thought you were not going to order a full meal in the main bar area, they tried to direct you to sit at the bar or at least away from the tables close to the band. This left the impression that the guests who were not there were more important than the guests who were. As it was on Saturday night, several of the good tables were left empty since the more important guests never showed up. I would think that it would be better to take care of the guests who actually came to the restaurant.

My spouse and I did eat. I only had the clam chowder, which was very good. My spouse had a full meal: the shepherd's pie. The shepherd's pie had plenty of meat and was very good although it could have had more colcannon (mashed potatoes with cabbage). However, my spouse being Irish, there are never enough potatoes. The shepherd's pie cost $18.99 which is $5.00 too much. Beer and wine were reasonably priced at about $6.00 a glass. The soda bread was good but not as good as my spouse's, which has raisins and is therefore moister. The Death by Chocolate piece of cake was large (more than enough for two people) and delicious. It cost $7.50.

We ate at Galway Bay several years ago. The hospitality then was better than it was this time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Bay also viewed

 

Been to Galway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.