We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, too much tobacco” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quinault Beach Resort and Casino

Save Saved
You added Quinault Beach Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
78 State Route 115, Ocean Shores, WA 98569   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Ocean Shores
Seattle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice room, too much tobacco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent one night in very nice room. King bed, gas fireplace at foot, couch and chairs to relax and talk. Looks out at beach. Good ventilation but would be better with balcony and sliding door. Since it is part of casino, whole building has smokey smell. Decent omlett breakfast for $4 in the morning. Very nice folks at the desk.

Room Tip: Make sure to get non-smoking. Web arrangements may not be easy to see this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad that you got to enjoy the Sunday Omelet bar...that is one of my personal favorites. We also have a great breakfast special that is available any time the Ocean Lounge is open that you might want to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    116
    45
    40
    41
See reviews for
56
147
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed once again at quinault for the Fourth of July holiday and the entire trip was wonderful. The fireworks show is very nice. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly from Rachel, the sweet girl that brought our luggage up to the lady that cleaned our room. The service was outstanding. Will go back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Isn't Fourth of July in Ocean Shores AMAZING?! There is absolutely nothing like it. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your review very much. And I'll be sure to let Rachel know, she is one of the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our first trip back since the hotel did some remodeling, and i am not sure if the changes are for the better or not.
Rooms: Rooms come either come with a view facing the ocean or with no view facing the parking lot, and are priced accordingly. Our group got two rooms - one with a king size bed and one with 2 queen size beds facing the ocean. The rooms used to have a slider that you could open and enjoy the breeze and the sound of the ocean. Now you cannot open the window and instead there is a small window you can open which doesnt get the breeze going. I am not sure if this was done for liability or to save money somehow but it decrease the enjoyment of the room. The room with the queen size bed had an open layout where you could see the ocean from either bed. It also came with one lounge chair. The TV was facing one bed as the electric fireplace was in the middle. The TV does turn so it can be viewed from the other bed but it can be awkward. Also there are no digital channels so reception can be so so for some channels. The king size room has the bed facing the ocean, however the electric fireplace is between the bed and the window and totally blocks any views. That room also comes with a little bigger chair that i think can be folded out. Both rooms come with double sinks and a mini fridge. If you get a room facing the parking lot be careful as one part of the first floor by the linen room has a loud exhaust fan.
Gym/Pool: The "gym" is a tiny room that gets hot, and basically has one general weight machine, one bike, one stair climber, one elliptical machine and one jogging machine. The elliptical machine is a Polar brand so does not have a moving ramp. There is one TV which gets even worse reception then the TV in the room. The pool is good size but was very cold. There is a hot tub but when we were there it was full of foam which may indicate some dirt. The pool has a view of the ocean but it seems that the area was kind of thrown together at the end just to have a pool and gym, but no real thought, planning or money was put into it.
Kid friendliness: I get the main point of the hotel is the casino, but people like to bring their kids with them. There used to be at least a video game arcade in the casino. It has now been removed (and it is not like they are using the room for something else). Really other than the overly cold pool, there isn't anything for kids to do in the hotel.
Food: I didnt in the hotel this time, but members of our group had breakfast there which was very cheap and from what i hear, good.
Casino: The casino is small, but has a wide range of slot machines and some table games. There is no non-smoking section, so you always end up smelling when you come out. However, we have always had good luck there (for what's that worth).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have a great view. Otherwise you are facing the parking lot. If you are fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review! We love it when guests give their thoughts on the property, as it allows others to get an idea of what we have to offer. You are right, we do not have much for the younger set to do...I am actually writing to you from an office that inhabits the space that used to be our arcade. :) As we continue to grow, that will be one area that we will address. For now, we try to cater to our guests who like to "play hard and rest easy". Do try our breakfast special...it is fabulous, and the price can't be beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Do not decide if you want to stay due to some of the other negative reviews. My wife and I stayed there last night. The lady at the front desk (Jo), was very nice and helpful to us. At first, they were not going to honor our coupon. She went back again to her supervisor, and came back and told us that they will honor our coupon. She went above and beyond to help us. She did not need to go back and check again, but she did. It made my day. We stayed in room 474. My Wife commented the next morning that she slept as if she took sleeping pills. We slept so good on that comfortable King size bed. Our room was spotless. The view was also priceless. I was looking out the window sipping my Fosters beer, and I saw a giant Buck walking right on the trail to the beach. We did not hear any noise or anything all night. It is a justifiable perfect score from us. The staff everywhere we went, was very nice. I will be back again soon.

Room Tip: You cannot beat the Ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience, slept well, and got to see the abundant wildlife just out the window. That is exactly what we want for our guests. Do hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Wa.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I read a few reviews on a Casino in Lewiston Id. that made me cringe. The lady from Canada who was treated very badly. She should visit The place I'am talking about. Clean rooms and smiling staff. They go above and beyond to serve you. Also The Casino has very loose slots.They have sent me 2 free nights twice in 3 months. They appreacite out business.

Room Tip: Ocean side with a fireplace .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our resort! And you are absolutely right...we do appreciate your business! And when you play with your Q Club card, the more you play...the more that we can offer you. So come on out and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've stayed here before, though not for a few years. So many things have changed - not for the better - that we won't be back.

When we checked in, we were sad to learn the breakfast buffet had been discontinued, but that wasn't a dealbreaker. We headed up to our room and were dismayed to find the sliding glass door had been replaced with a picture window THAT DOES NOT OPEN. Our only access to the ocean breeze was a smaller window that tilts out from the bottom to a distance of about 6 inches. We could hear the ocean, but that was about it. Even looking through the window was unsatisfying because it was not very clean (typical for an ocean view room, but usually not a problem because one opens the window to look out).

As many customers do, we arrived with three internet-capable devices, only to discover the wi-fi internet does not work well. When we called the desk we were told we could pay $10 for an ethernet cable (refundable upon return), or come down to the lobby, connect, and then head back up to our room and hope the signal would hold. This is a newer property in the 21st century, and this was the best they could offer? (I also did not have cell phone service in the room, though my husband did.)

We found a general lack of knowledge among the hotel staff; more than one told us they had been hired within the past year.

On the plus side, the bathroom was well stocked and clean (though the room had trash behind the chair and under the table). The bed was comfortable, and the HD TV worked well.

When I made our reservation a month ago, I was surprised to score a room with an ocean view on a summer weekend for less than $100/night. Sadly, now I know why that was possible. As I said - we won't be back.

Room Tip: Find another hotel where you can either step out onto a balcony to enjoy the ocean, or at least open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We did replace the windows in 2012 with ones that have a smaller opening, as these are much easier to keep clean, with the ocean breezes that blow through. It was a necessary change, even though we did enjoy the sliding glass doors as you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was a hot day and in the summer. We decited to go to the ocean to cool off. It was July and the weather man said" 96 degrees and up!!." Thats hot for washington coast area! We jumped into the convertable and tore out of there headed for a cool breeze and air conditioning=NOT. We get to the hotel and check in, take the bags up to the room and attempt to turn on the air conditioner=Nothing!! Evidentally.....they blew the whole thing out with all the guests running to the ocean to do the same thing we did.The air conditioning was on OVERLOAD to the MAX and NOT WORKING!!! Who'da thunk?! I guess this happened before-so think about that before you check into an ocean front hotel in Wa.! The hotel itself was very nice, but not equiped for a heat wave. The resturant there was also very good. The service was great also. This was a 10 on the resturant and a 5 on the hotel due to the air conditioning problems.

Room Tip: Check for air conditioning that works BEFORE you check in if it's summer. Go even if all you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuinaultBeach, Marketing at Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We have had some amazing weather recently! Fortunately, we always have an ocean breeze that cools things off outside. So glad that you enjoyed the restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinault Beach Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinault Beach Resort and Casino

Address: 78 State Route 115, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Enjoy a striking destination inspired by the extraordinary landscape, melding the offerings of thrilling in outdoor recreation and renowned spa treatments, with the hot & unsurpassed beauty of the Pacific Ocean. CasinoFrom your favorite table games, to the many electronic slot machines, you will find all sorts of fun on our Vegas Style casino floor. We offer FREE entertainment on the weekends in the Ocean Lounge for a weekend party at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Quinault Beach Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinault Beach Hotel Ocean Shores
Quinault Beach Ocean Shores
Quinalt Casino
Quinault Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinault Beach Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.