We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bennett's Fish Shack

Bennett's Fish Shack
131 E Chance A La Mer, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fish and Chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went on a busy Saturday night - two families with 5 combined young children. The food came pretty quickly, and overall was good - fish was fresh, nice flavor, but the portions were small and the menu is somewhat limited. It was extremely noisy but that worked in our favor as we didn't have to worry about the kids bothering other diners. Two people ordered the clam chowder, they really liked the flavor but wished the temperature was warmer, and they also recommended ordering the chowder in the bread bowl.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    110
    60
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Shores, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Normally a great diner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We eat there every time we are at the beach and love the food , but this last time at dinner i could not get over how bad our service was in the bar. Why is it on a Friday evening the bartender on duty (the bar manager) smells like cigarettes and doesn't bother to stay with her customer's in the bar ,the only full service available. Please find some better help we love your food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good food ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place was a treat..We took our two kids, sat outside on patio- at first ..because the place was packed. Staff was super friendly . It was a busy night and it took awhile for us to be served. The food is.a bit spendy - but it is delicious. I loved the decor and the big tables along the wall. It's an order first at counter place - they bring your food to you. We went to bar on our own for faster service. They may want to hire a few more servers - during busy times. Other than the "wait" we enjoyed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Get there early or not during a ball game on TV...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We circled around Ocean Shores for a while until we found this place. The fish was really fresh, well battered, and cooked just right. No reservations, or anything like that - so if its full, just wait for a table to open up. A bit loud, if that bothers you, but the food is worth it. Try the hand battered halibut and the clam chowder - the spoon sticks up in the cup!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Well worth stopping by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I don't always enjoy fish and chips in this part of the country because they all too often resemble fish sticks, which are an abomination. Bennett's made cod and chips that were superb. The only better I have had was in Gibraltar and, since that's a tad out of the way, I totally recommend this place. They also offer a line of burgers, somewhat overpriced, and salads. The atmosphere is casual. Best of all, whoever made the coleslaw definitely got it right. A fringe benefit was that they provide malt vinegar which is a sweet relief from the ubiquitous tartar sauce. The cashier and the server were pleasant which made things even better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Fish Shack also viewed

 
Ocean Shores, WA
 

Been to Bennett's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennett's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.