We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viet Hoa Restaurant

Viet Hoa Restaurant
806 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
(360) 289-2818
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
tacoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Some of the best food in this little town. I would recommend trying this place. One of our favorites to go to. They do carry out or dine-in and are always customer friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Shores, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friends and I really enjoy this restaurant. The food is good and prices are good. The owners, Steph and Steve, are very nice. I have not had anything there that I don't like. I live in Ocean Shores and eat here more than all the other restaurants put together! We eat here several times every month. We eat here for lunch, dinner or take out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Sad because, although I didn't think the pho here would be at the level of the Than brothers' places in Seattle, it didn't even meet those lowered expectations (tasteless broth and minimal amount of meat), and it was more expensive. Sad, because the atmosphere was dark and chilly (probably better in the summer, though). Sad because the rice bowl was 'meh'. Sad because I really wanted to like it, but couldn't.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“I'm not sure what everyone is raving about??!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Yuck, is all I can say! There is absolutely no decor, the food was average at best, but the Pho was disgusting! Almost like boiled dish water with cilantro. The staff was very polite and courteous, but i have NO idea why this place is rated the second best restaurant in Ocean Shores. Avoid, avoid, avoid

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Still very good food, but can only order ala-carte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We first went by on a Monday, but the lights were out, so we went elsewhere. The next night, the same thing, but we pulled in. It turned out that they were open, but due to the lighting and faded paint, we couldn't see the parking spaces (they run N/S) and, despite the restaurant being absolutely empty, we were asked to reposition our car! This is a nondescript place, nothing fancy, and it was a good thing for them that their food was good last year, else we might have taken our next choice again. This year, they no longer had "specials" that offer a combination of offerings, but on the other hand, the restaurants that do tend to have one thing or another in their "special" that doesn't appeal to someone, and the urge to substitute for something becomes overwhelming. That set aside, we ordered ala carte, and we found that doing so provided ample amounts for our party, whether a single order of soup or a single ala carte other menu item. As previously, the food was not only ample, but fresh and colorfully presented. And, a nice touch was orange slices (which we've had one other place, but they're unfortunately no longer in business) along with the traditional fortune cookie to conclude our meal. A good thing for the customer: they're open late - 9:30 this night - but the light traffic could lead to this not lasting long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Hoa Restaurant also viewed

 
Ocean Shores, WA
 

Been to Viet Hoa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet Hoa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.