We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old furniture made our stay uncomfortable- beautiful 4th fireworks views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Gull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grey Gull to your Saves list
Grey Gull
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   651 Ocean Shore Blvd. NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Deal
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Troutdale, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Old furniture made our stay uncomfortable- beautiful 4th fireworks views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This old condo complex has a great location in Ocean Shores. It is in good position but not really what I would call oceanview because of the large berm. There are balconies- most only big enough for 2 chairs and a very small table.

The staff, with the exception of a grumpy few, work hard to keep this old complex in good condition. The 2 Lauras were gems, one behind the desk the other head of housekeeping.

Our room had serious comfort problems. The sleeper couch needed 2 people to open as it was badly bent and wanted to tip the whole couch over. The rest of the furniture was just as old and uncomfortable. It needed to be replaced.

The pool had seen better days although the staff tried hard to keep it as clean as possible. There is a fire pit with a neatly stacked cord of firewood nearby. Barbeques are over by the pit.

The views were pretty awesome for fireworks. That was the reason for our visit.

The kitchen was good except the disposal just spun and had no teeth. Fridge, outmoded micro and stove were a plus. We had local crab that we steamed in dark beer with corn in a big pot. Dining next to the big windows was so nice.

We were in room 211 and it is right next to the stairs and trash. We sure wouldn't go to that room again. Other visitors coming in and out shout to each other and it is right next to the bedroom. LOL, we got to sleep several times the last night there because of the loud conversations outside the window which woke us up.

The Lauras offered to switch us to another room but it wasn't even available to see until noon on the 4th. By then we were stressed that we even waited that long (couldn't be done earlier, all booked up) and although the other room may have been better we decided moving that late in our stay was stupid. Instead we checked out one day early. We wondered why someone would check out on the 4th.

These are individually owned and you get owners who don't care and it can ruin your trip because out of kilter furniture makes you hurt. There is not really anyway you can check the quality of furniture out that before you book.

Room Tip: It is hard to tell where rooms are on their web page. It is a tradeoff- elevator/pool noise or hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding our hotel, and I apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. We actually have two Jackie's working here, and I agree with you completely that they are gems! I will be sure to share your kudos with them.

As the new General Manager of this property, it is extremely beneficial to me to hear feedback from our guests, even if it is critical. It is because of feedback like this that I can know where to focus my efforts. The issues upon which you have commented will absolutely be shared with the owner, as do all critiques. I, of course, will also do my best to improve the comfort and quality of each condo unit. We have many owners who do care a great deal about their condos, and I know that they want to ensure their guests enjoy their experience.

Unfortunately, change cannot happen overnight, but I assure you that I am working diligently to increase our guests' comfort, convenience, and overall satisfaction. I hope that you will give us another try in the future. We would love to have you back.

Sincerely,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are from Texas and loved the cool weather in Ocean Shores. The Grey Gull made our stay even better with a fantastic view of the ocean from the 3rd floor (room 304). Each room is individually decorated and the full-size kitchen is fully stocked for cooking. We loved the pool, hot-tub and cooking out at the picnic area.
The staff at the Grey Gull are very helpful and nice. There are movies and games for use in the lobby along with a quick hot cup of coffee.
Don't forget to fly a kite while in Ocean Shores! We hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best, awesome view of the ocean! Remember, move chairs around quietly when eating d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We were happy to host you and your party, and we hope to have you back with us again. Keep in mind, we do offer group rates for room blocks of 5 or more, so consider The Grey Gull for your family reunion!

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have never had a bad experience at the Grey Gull. We plan on going back again very soon. It's so relaxing and just a short walk thru the dunes to the beach. We've gone there in good weather and bad. It's always been fabulous.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggmanager, General Manager at Grey Gull, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to having you back.

Warm Regards,
Darcy Hambrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a nice hotel. We had a 2 bedroom condo - nice rooms and plenty of space as well as a stocked kitchen (except for the food). The beach is about a 5 minute walk down a wooded path. You can't see the ocean from the 2nd floor, not sure about the 3rd floor.
clean.

Room Tip: you can't see the ocean from 1st or 2nd floor, not sure about the 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday by spending one night at the Grey Gull. We stayed in unit 314, which had an amazing view of the ocean and mountains. We immediately realized we should have spent more than one night. Our room was a one-bedroom condo with all the amenities of home. We are already making plans to return for a much longer stay. But next time we'll be staying in our friend (Jeri Burgess) condo -- unit 214. It has the same amazing view and is delightfully decorated in a nautical theme. The Grey Gull is a beautiful, comfortable, hidden treasure right on the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not only as a 40-year international business traveler, but as one in the middle of a 10,000 mile tour of the U.S., I found this motel to be very under-rated, both in value and experience.
On this trip, we've stayed mostly in 3-star motels, with the occasional 2-star when we lacked choice; we picked the Grey Gull on that basis and were very pleasantly surprised. On a holiday weekend we booked one-night; shortly after arrival and based on the experience, we extended.

Our room (202) turned out to be a mini-suite, with all of the conveniences one would expect for an extended stay, including kitchenette and all of the accessories. The room was in excellent condition, with everything crisp and new/modern accessories. The room was tastefully decorated, and included both a gas fireplace and flat-screen television, complete with full surround-sound speaker system. The king-size bed was very comfortable, and the room included a balcony and chairs that faced both a heated outdoor pool and the ocean, (a short walk to the beach). Everything appeared clean and well maintained. Wireless internet was easy to connect to and reliable. The staff was pleasant and accomodating.

Throughout the stay, one observes little reminders that these folks are in the hospitality business, viewing the experience through the eyes of their guests, and adding little touches to make the experience positive. I view the Grey Gull as "3-stars +" relative to anywhere else we've stayed on this trip and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We wanted a place on the beach where we could have our dog and this was perfect. All facilities worked fine, staff was friendly. Decor a little dated, and internet slow, but for price was a good deal. Very clean.

Room Tip: First floor rooms do not have ocean view because of dunes, but did have nice patios onto the grass a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull

Address: 651 Ocean Shore Blvd. NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grey Gull 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grey Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Ocean Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Gull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.