We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable setting, very good food, friendly servide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alec's By the Sea

Alec's By the Sea
131 E Chance A La Mer NE, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
360-289-4026
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable setting, very good food, friendly servide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have "family" that live in Ocean Shores so like to go there as often as possible to decompress by the sea. I always enjoy going to Alec's. It feels like home to me. The servers are friendly and attentive, the food has large portions and is above average though may not be "gourmet" level I have never felt less than very satisfied.. For those who may be looking to eat somewhere that you can overlook the Pacific (and think the "By the Sea" means that - this isn't it) there is no view. Alec's is a few blocks from the Shore. So go eat then take that "long walk on the beach" that everyone talks about. I'll be sitting back, thinking that once again I ate too much because it just tasted so good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    81
    33
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ocean shores
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The pan fried oysters are some of the best I've ever had, Great clam chowder, sourdough rolls, and bluecheese dressing on salads!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I come to Ocean Shores often. Alec's has some if the best food you will find! The calamari is amazing and fish and chips are best I've had anywhere. We look forward to coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed considering other reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The service was good and server was friendly. But I was disappointed in the Captain's Plate, which I ordered. Not even sure what some of the seafood was.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were referred by our hotel and were pleased with the recommendation. We both delighted in cioppino chock full of seafood and crowned with crab. The service was good, but not great. But that said, we would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alec's By the Sea also viewed

 
Ocean Shores, WA
 

Been to Alec's By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alec's By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.