We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seniors Favorite Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alec's By the Sea

Alec's By the Sea
131 E Chance A La Mer NE, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
360-289-4026
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 45 Restaurants in Ocean Shores
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Vancouver
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Seniors Favorite Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good tasting food at prices that make you come back. We had 2 dinners at Alecs. One night we had a salmon, veggies, fruit slices, and salad for $12; the next night we had cod, veggies, salad, potatoes for under $15. We didn't eat elsewhere because we could buy 2 entrees here for the price of one at other spots in town. Lots of menu choices and comfortable booths. Lots of parking as it is on the Ace Hardware - Grocey store mall area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    72
    26
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I were visiting Ocean Shores for her birthday. We asked where we staying for a suggestion on where to have dinner and they recommended Alec's by the Sea. We wanted to view a menu and in the process saw some very unflattering reviews. Despite our apprehensions, we decided to try them. Wow!!! It was an excellent experience in all respects. We both had some specific request for our meals- Fettucine Alfredo and Prime Rib- and they were filled perfectly. The dinner was finished with a free Chocolate Mousse with a candle for her birthday. Food and service were both beyond expectations. We would strongly recommend Alec's to everyone.
MIke P

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“worst meal in Ocean Shores”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

restaurant was recommended by everyone in town...expected at least a 4-star meal. Ordered salmon & deep-fried oysters. Salmon was over-cooked...looked like it was fried on a grill. Oysters was more breading than oyster. Came with canned corn & packaged rice pilaf. Looked like something a short-order cook cooked & plated. Most unappealing meal I have ever been served. Totally tasteless & it was not cheap. Would definitely NOT eat there again. Sorry Alec's...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Seafood in Ocean Shores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were late getting into Ocean Shores, and asked for a good place to get dinner, and we were directed to Alec's By The Sea. The food was delicious, lots of variety. I highly recommend their Zucchini Sticks as an appetizer, handmade, tempura battered, dusted with parmesan with a homemade ranch dip...Yummy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good seafood Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hidden by the IGA Stror near the main intersection of town, Alec's offers great seafood at a reasonable price , but no view/

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alec's By the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Alec's By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alec's By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.