We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price.. comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sands Resort to your Saves list
The Sands Resort
801 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Covington, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for the price.. comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Sands resort during Easter weekend for a family reunion.
We had the largest room there, 3 bedroom with a huge deck. The room wasn't at all "modern" but it was definitely clean and comfortable. Plenty of room for our large family to gather for the evening. Kitchen was big enough to make a dinner for 25+ people.
My kids used the pool, they said it was fine. Close to the room too which was nice.
The continental breakfast was great, lots of different options and never ran out of food the 3 days we stayed.

For the price that we paid and the size of the room, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    25
    23
    41
See reviews for
44
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

we stayed there 1 night, and i wouldnt stay any more. the room itself had animal hair all over it with a rusty fridge and outdated stove and appliance. the baseboard heating is no good, the most heat we got was the complimentary duraflame log that they give you at checkin, but regardless of that...you are required to leave a window open for venting....kinda' hard to do that if all the windows can't be opened so we had to keep our front door , which was also our patio door wide open to prevent the screaming smoke detector from going off.
if it looks just as bad on the outside, it looks like that on the inside....no tv in the bedroom, rachet tv on a tv tray in the livingroom with no channels and no wifi in the rooms. to top it all off, there was no hot water when we woke up the next morning, and the old lady at the front desk didnt even blink when i told her, and said they were waiting for a part to come in on monday, and they were "hoping" that the hot water would last them through the weekend. apparently not....i asked for a call back that day when i checked out...that didnt happen...it took the next day until i called twice for the management to call back, to offer... *****drumroll ****voucher for 2 free nights....or big money $50 refund. are you shittin' me?? that was in..not to mention the pool drywall and ceiling are rotting, and everything in the gameroom.....worse service ever! never recommending again.

Room Tip: choose somewhere else, construction was being done as well and noisy during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We changed hotels at the last minute because we had to bring our dog. There was a little confusion at first in finding the right office but the staff was wonderful and the room was great. They were very helpful and as nice as could be. We will be staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I took a much needed weekend trip, to a town we used to live in, since we hadn't been there in a while. When I made the reservations, I asked for a balcony with a view. I was told we would be on the third floor (balcony with a view). When we came into town, we stopped at the office that was originally The Royal Pacific, and was told we had to go over to the other office. After we checked in, we went up to our room, and was totally disgusted. The décor looks the same way it did 20 years ago (in fact my husband commented that the curtains looked the same).

The floors felt like we were walking up and down hills, it looked more like a mountain cabin than a beach hotel. Knotty pine walls, wallpaper to make it look like your looking out a window to the forest and a fake MOOSEHEAD above one of the beds.

We did get the ocean view, but the balcony turned out to be the WALKWAY between rooms overlooking the office and parking lot, with numerous cobwebs.

The shower was so weak, it took me 10 minutes to rinse the soap from my hair.

About the only good thing I can say about the rooms at the original Sands Resort (not the original Royal Pacific), is that the beds are halfway comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I love the corner rooms. nice and cozy. just found out there was a fire pit there also. that was good fun. made new friends. very easy to get a shuttle to the casino and back. love that there is breakfast in the morning too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The North Pole is a place of unending discomfort. Nome, Alaska can be habitable, provided that one is well prepared for the nightmarishly freezing temperatures that may be encountered. On February 8, 2014, I spent the night in Room 222, There was no heat at all. I requested a space heater. They reported that they were all out of space heaters. I walked to the front desk three times to try to get the problem corrected, but no one was interested in correcting the problem. The goal of this type of experimentation was probably to find out how long it would take a poor sap to freeze to death. Apparently these testing procedures were patterned after some sort of testing procedure that laboratory chimpanzees became exposed to, just prior to the launching of the first Mercury Space Capsule during the early 1960's.

Question: What would you call a group of individuals that work (loosely used term), at the Sands Hotel, that seem to be rather uncomfortable with the spirit of customer service skills??????

Answer: How about a mob!!!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT patronize this business, unless you plan to bring your own space heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at The Sands this past weekend. Had a little snow on the ground. Fun to see snow at the beach. Staff was helpful and accommodating as always. Continental breakfast had fresh nice variety of pastries. Muffins were particularly yummy. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family any time.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are great for a couples retreat. The sitting room and little kitchen are a awesome plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Address: 801 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort has accommodations for groups and families of every budget, we offer a fun and easy getaway at an unbeatable value! Enjoy our breathtaking ocean views, take a relaxing sunset stroll along the beach, play in the indoor and outdoor pools, and unwind in our hot tubs. We offer pet friendly rooms and a free daily Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Ocean Shores
Sands Hotel Ocean Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.