We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sands Resort to your Saves list
The Sands Resort
801 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Kaufman, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A good budget minded choice for a great weekend getaway. Rooms were average and clean. Nothing to write home about. But a decent place to lay your head after playing all day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    25
    22
    40
See reviews for
42
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Sands is actually a couple motels owned by the same company. Both sides are budget, but if you really don't have much cash and don't care about your room, rent on the "off shore" side. Not necessarily very clean, very old, not in great repair, but you still have use of all facilities. The on-shore side is much nicer, although still budget accommodations. A decent (but not great) breakfast is included in the price. There is a pool with two private hot tubs and a sauna. My kids have always enjoyed the pool. There's also a game room upstairs from the pool. Just over the sand dunes is the ocean, so there isn't a much more convenient place in Ocean Shores if that's what you came for. Anytime of year is good here - summer for obvious reasons, but the other seasons are great for storm watching. Beat the crowds and spend some time during the winter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple valley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here for the Irish Music Festival. I'm not at all picky like some people, this place was clean, had a bed, couch,tv and kitchen with all the utensils and the people were very friendly. It served it's purpose, a place to stay and was very close to the venues and free shuttle service. I will stay again, even in the same room. Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Sands has been remodeled since I was last there and it has a vacation feel. I was traveling with teens and had a good time. The staff was helpful and brought extra pillows and answered any questions we had. The kids enjoyed the pool and some of the activities near-by. We stayed in the less expensive room and were happy with everything. We must have gotten lucky.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

They had fleas in our room the maid came n change a light bulb n mist have dropped it because there was broken glass everywhere n I cut my foot open. The front desk wouldn't even bring me a bandage! Not worth the Monet AT ALL

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

when I called and made the reservations they said the rooms were just newly remodeled and in great condition. I told her my mom was picky and did not want a "crap hole" and she said " oh no no They are nice and newly remodeled". So we went and got 2 rooms one was ok at entrance but did not look newly remodeled. The other room smelled moldy and muggy the window rattled and come to find later the fridge froze the food in both rooms. All the food went to waste. While there the electric went out and they did nothing to ease peoples concern on dinner arrangements or anything. While looking for a local shop to change oil the lady at the front desk says IDK and don't you have 2 guys with you? Make them do it that's what there good for. UM YA NOT IMPRESSED! Oh ya and when we brought up the smell of the room she gave us air freshener. So we paid 110 a night for terrible beds, rattly windows,, moldy and muggy smell, frozen food and no sleep because upstairs kept us up all night walking and i can hear everything and a RUDE RUDE front desk clerk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Clean room...But for the price...I was suprised you could feel the springs in the mattress. Very old bed. When told the front desk about this , she just said I will let them know..Come on, like we are the first to complain of this? I think not. Besides, very pleasant stay...Just a terrible , uncomfortable bed for 100 plus dollars a night!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Address: 801 Ocean Shores Blvd NW, Ocean Shores, WA 98569
Location: United States > Washington > Ocean Shores
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ocean Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Resort has accommodations for groups and families of every budget, we offer a fun and easy getaway at an unbeatable value! Enjoy our breathtaking ocean views, take a relaxing sunset stroll along the beach, play in the indoor and outdoor pools, and unwind in our hot tubs. We offer pet friendly rooms and a free daily Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Ocean Shores
Sands Hotel Ocean Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.