We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food but too pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cazador

El Cazador
32195 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-3774
+1 360-675-6114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 74 restaurants in Oak Harbor
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
Description: Voted Best of Western Washington 2013 and The Best of Whidbey 2014 (4 years in a row!) Since 1982 The Rodriguez Family has been serving Oak Harbor delicous Mexican food. We take great pride in what we do and are still family owned and operated. August of 2014 we celebrated 32 years of business in Oak Harbor. We appreciate all of our Amigos who have supported us throughout the years! Whether you are craving some delicious Carne Asada, Fajitas, or Tortilla soup, you are sure to find something to love here at El Cazador. We offer 12 beers on tap (6 of which are Mexican Cervezas, 6 Local) And over 40 Premium Tequilas in our full bar. We look forward to serving you!
Restaurant details
Description: Voted Best of Western Washington 2013 and The Best of Whidbey 2014 (4 years in a row!) Since 1982 The Rodriguez Family has been serving Oak Harbor delicous Mexican food. We take great pride in what we do and are still family owned and operated. August of 2014 we celebrated 32 years of business in Oak Harbor. We appreciate all of our Amigos who have supported us throughout the years! Whether you are craving some delicious Carne Asada, Fajitas, or Tortilla soup, you are sure to find something to love here at El Cazador. We offer 12 beers on tap (6 of which are Mexican Cervezas, 6 Local) And over 40 Premium Tequilas in our full bar. We look forward to serving you!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent food but too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The last time we had eaten there, I split a meal with my mom. I guess we shouldn't have told them that we were splitting it because they charged us an extra $2 just for a plate, they didn't even split the food up or give extra. The portion sizes were small. We had chimichangas but looked more like mini-chimis. The food was ok but not worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    18
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

NIce assortment of Mexican dishes and well priced, staff was helpful and friendly. Had four kids with us and they put us away from the other diners which was perfect for us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“El Cazador”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The restaurant is family oriented and has an obvious spanish flair. The help is friendly, quick to smile. Service is good, the food is good. The place is clean and has plenty of tables. Prices are a little high, but worth it. Delivery service available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Boooooo!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The food was NOT good, especially not for the high, high price they charge! It was edible, but certainly not good! There are SEVERAL Mexican restaurants on the Island, and this is definitely the worst of them! Not impressed and won't go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Owner at El Cazador, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello,

A little stumped by your review here on Tripadvisor. What did you eat when you dined with us? What didn't you like about it? What items did you feel were overpriced? Did you ask to speak to a manager about your concerns?

As a local business our pricing is in line with surrounding restaurants. We also give all of our customers complimentary (unlimited) chips and salsa, which adds to the value of our menu, and large portions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Oak Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great place for really good Mexican food. Very helpful staff. Food came out fast and the portions were huge. Awesome service. We could get the happy hour menu in the restaurant as we had children and could not go into the lounge/bar area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cazador also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to El Cazador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cazador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.