We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Frank's Place
32945 State Rd 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-2616
(360) 675-5850
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 71 restaurants in Oak Harbor
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

An unexpected treat. We were driving around looking for somewhere to eat when I spoted Frank's. It looks at bit quirky with all of the flags and statutes outside and inside was also very eclectric in style. A real diner. We both had hamburgers and what a burger it was. They are all names like "the Navy" burger or the "Marine" burger. It was a fun little place. The burger I had was big and juicy and messy... Fried onions, mushrooms and cheese. Delicious. And of course fried to go with.

The waitress was friendly and the service was good. Prices very reasonable. If I'm ever back in the area I will definetly be back. Would love to try their breakfast. Looks good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    4
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very homey, strong military theme and support.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The owners are ex Marines, ex Navy, ex Army. The food was good, solid home cooking.
This is not a fancy place but you and your family feel right at home. The prices were very reasonable.If you like/love Spam this is the place for you, they even serve LOCO-MOCO.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is much belated but during a Thanksgiving visit to see my son (stationed at NAS Whidbey Island) we ate here. Quite simply one of the best burgers I've ever had: burger, cheese, grilled onions, mushrooms, and a slice of Spam. Sounds crazy but it works.
Looking forward to another trip and another meal at Frank's

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great family atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great restaurant to eat some home cooking (breakfast, lunch or dinner). It is reasonably priced and will appeal to any past, present and future member of our armed forces. It's like a trip down memory lane for many visitors. Fun place to have food that many don't have on a regular basis...Spam and eggs! Recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great value for a great meal. If you want just plain ol good stick to your ribs cooking then this is your kind of place! Fantastic meals at great not so bad prices. Had the Marine Corps reveille and it is a lot of food. Almost couldn't finish it off and I'm a food lover and my size would tell you that. The best breakfast on the island! Staff is super and so is the food. Head on over and check it out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Place also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Frank's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.