We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option for Oak Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33221 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oak Harbor
USA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best option for Oak Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a military town and there is no high end 5 star choices, but this is the nicest and cleanest hotel in town. It is very clean, very modern with good service and front desk. Not crowded or far from any restaurants or nearby activities. Rooms have nice kitchenettes which is nice to have with full cable TV service.

The only small downside is very limited shampoo and soap condiments in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Our entire TEAM is dedicated to making sure every guest enjoys their stay. We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review, and are so happy to know you consider us Oak Harbor's Best.

Pamela Estes-General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
26
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love that all the rooms are suites. Nice extras like popcorn in the room. Quiet and clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The girl on the morning shift helped us to find where to go for breakfast on a holiday morning. She also recommended Mt erie as a sight to see. It was beautiful...don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The Candlewood Team appreciates you taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Oak Harbor.

Sincerely,
Pamela Estes
General Manager-Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was my second time back in the area, as I travel here for work occasionally. This is a pretty decent hotel for the area, unfortunately it doesn't have the amenities of some of the larger chains that we see in the bigger cities, but the rooms were clean, well kept, and the staff were friendly. I do like that most of the rooms have a small kitchenette, and the bathrooms are a fair size. The in house complimentary movie collection is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our movie collection. Our entire TEAM is proud to be considered one of the BEST Oak Harbor hotels by you. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in our area.

Pamela Estes-General Manager
Candlewood Suites-Oak Harbor, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I will compliment staff they were friendly. But the hotel is older and the room seemed to have a slight musty smell but for the night it was ok.

They did recognize that I am a platnum member of IHG and was upgraded. I don't know how much smaller the regular rooms are. I did cancel on of my nights and moveody to a hotel in Burlington mainly because the musty smell was getting to me.

I did not gripe because I think it was mainly because its Oak Harborand usually wet.

The location is good and easy access. The majority of the places to eat and shop are less than 1 mile. A little too far to walk unless its a nice day.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor. I think a higher floor would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Price was slightly higher than I like. However, it was well worth it. Location was great... just north of Goldie Road on Hwy 20.

I grew up around Oak Harbor and wasn't sure that the quality I like was to be had. But I found it here. We have a little dog and the restrictions were quite reasonable. Banned from all public areas. There was a door leading directly to the pet area - a nice little garden.

No "breakfast" like other hotels. The 'cupboard' is a small room accessible with our key card. It has all the convenience foods we could expect. They gave us a voucher for one free 'anything in the cupboard'. Free fresh hot coffee at 6:am.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor in back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

You cant beat the price for the location if you are only here for the night. There are restraunts and coffee shops all over within a half mile! For sure will be back.. Beds are comfy as well. The staff is quite hospitable as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

For the Oak Harbor area, Candlewood is located next to China City restaurant (see my review of them also) and edges out the competition with great beds and clean rooms, but can be a bit pricey. With a government rate discount, single night stay $104 after tax.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor

Address: 33221 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor Extended Stay Hotel Offers Comfortable Accommodations Travelers to Whidbey Island can enjoy our Oak Harbor hotel's beautiful location in Northwest Washington. We are conveniently located on Highway 20 with easy access to area attractions. Vacationers to our Whidbey Island hotel can enjoy beautiful outdoor attractions, while experiencing many indoor activities. City Beach Park and downtown Oak Harbor are in close proximity to the hotel. Other attractions that are less than a half-hour from our accommodations include the Admiralty Head Lighthouse, Meerkerk Gardens, Fort Casey, Deception Pass, Ebey's Landing and several different ferry services. Business travelers can easily access local businesses and corporations from our Oak Harbor hotel's convenient location on Whidbey Island. Businesses within 10 miles of our hotel include Whidbey General Hospital, Whidbey Naval Air Station, Labcorp, Northrop Grumman and Boeing NAS Whidbey office. Our all suite hotel in Oak Harbor makes you feel at home with a variety of choice amenities. You can enjoy convenience with complimentary laundry services and an on-site store with entrees, snacks and drinks when you're tired of eating out. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, a business center and a fitness center. End your search for the perfect Oak Harbor extended stay hotel by booking your reservations with the Candlewood Suites on Whidbey Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.