We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find a touch of the past at Auld Holland Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Holland Inn

Save Saved
You added Auld Holland Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auld Holland Inn
33575 Highway 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Find a touch of the past at Auld Holland Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Auld Holland Inn. I mad reservations through a website and read tripadvisor ahead of time to get an idea of what it would be like. The hotel far exceeded what I expected. First of all the hotel staff, including the owner, were very accommodating. The rooms were extremely CLEAN and decorated with antique furniture. The TV's were older but were HD and worked very well. The wi-fi was especially fast and I had no trouble at all connecting. The bed, as was the furniture, very "retro" to the 60's as is the entire hotel. What impressed me was that the owners took an older structure and kept the old charm while adding the important amenities. The breakfast was continental style and the area for breakfast was in the lobby of the hotel. This was a little awkward. I'd advise anyone to eat breakfast there however because there is only ONE other breakfast spot in Oak Harbor that we were able to find. The hotel is right on the highway (so typical of the 50's and 60's) so you hear the street traffic. It is not that bothersome and you tune it out once the air conditioner kicks in. If you are looking for luxury don't go to Oak Harbor and don't stay here. If you're looking for a good hotel at a reasonable price that is CLEAN and well run then you'll love the Auld Holland Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
20
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Auld Holland Inn offers something for most travelers; it's reasonably priced, comfortable, but not luxurious. Mid-upscale rooms with whirlpool tubs are available those who wish to splurge a bit, and clean, but elderly trailers fit the bill for travelers on a budget. The trailers are especially nice for extended stays, whether you are relocating or enjoying a longer vacation.

The primary rooms include Internet access and a very light continental breakfast. Those amenities are not included for the trailer homes. The trailer area is exceptionally clean and well maintained (as are the grounds throughout the complex). The trailers vary in size; I've stayed in both one bedroom and two bedroom units. Furnishings in each were satisfactory, but dated. Neither trailer included air conditioning. The two bedroom unit included a microwave; the one bedroom unit did not.

Major shopping and dining options are available within a short drive. The breathtaking beauty of Deception Pass is only 9 miles to the north. Ferries to the San Juan Islands, Port Townsend and Mukiltio are all easy to reach. This is a very convenient place to use as your vacation headquarters.

Now a few words of caution: The hotel and surrounding areas are very near a Naval Air Station. Flight Operations can go on till late at night. These are war planes, practicing war time maneuvers; powerful jet engines will rattle the windows. I quickly got used to it; however, some very young children or pets may have problems at first.

Room Tip: Visit a trailer prior to committing to it. Comfort and condition vary from one to another. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotwire had this hotel listed as a 2 star hotel. This hotel still has a roadside sign that says "color TV and dail phones." Good news - the phones are actually dial. This is not a quaint step back in tow -this is yellow appliances in the kitchenette and dated furniture. The light breakfast is boiled eggs and stale cornflakes. My husband and I nearly forfeited our payment and went to a different hotel. Wouldn't have been a good value at even half the hotwire price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed there the first time because of reputation of other reasonably price motel in Oak Harbor. We were so pleased we have stayed several times since. Staff is friendly and helpful. Owner was delightful last time we were there. Room is clean, though old fashioned (part of the charm), nice not fancy. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms (2) are downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

When I was a child, this hotel was *THE* place to stay in town. Not anymore. The outside looks quaint, but the hotel is falling apart. The room smelled like an ashtray, even though there was a no smoking sign on the door. The window would barely open, and there was no screen on it. My friend got bit by several mosquitoes overnight. The ancient mini fridge is on the floor in the bathroom, and the just as old microwave is on the bathroom counter. Not very hygenic. My friend got athlete's foot from the shower. The "antique" furniture is falling apart, and the "huge flat screen television" is the old huge 1000 lb CRT type with a small flat screen. Plus, the hotel is at the end of the Naval Station's runway, so you may get a rude awakening. At least the old A/C works great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I arrived on bicycles for a night's stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was fine and very quiet given that the hotel is near the road. We could walk to a restaurant. I would heartily recommend it for a night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife an I stayed for a night and we were upgraded to the suite. It had a jacquzzi! It was awesome! The hostess was very pleasant and generous. I would highly recommend to people that don't mind old style furniture, clean rooms and friendly service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auld Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Holland Inn

Address: 33575 Highway 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world & European design & architecture, rooms are designer decorated & feature antiques - 8 mi from Deception Pass State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Auld Holland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Holland Hotel Oak Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Holland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.