We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Holland Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auld Holland Inn to your Saves list
Auld Holland Inn
33575 Highway 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Hanford, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“fair place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Checked in and when I got to the room I found there was a short in the cord on two different lamps. The shower had very low pressure and had to stand right under the shower head just to shower. The second day I started having trouble with the internet and called the front desk and the clerk said "well I have internet here I dont know what to tell you." I had to put a pillow between the wall and the headboard because everytime I moved the headboard would bang on the wall. overall I think knowing the problems I had I would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: I had room 111 so get a different room if possible maybe others are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
22
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay. Very close to everything you would need. The staff there are extremely helpful and genuinely nice. So affordable. Just compare the prices and you will see. Zayne is the manager there and she is fantastic! Willing to go above and beyond what needs to be done to keep her customers happy!

Room Tip: Call Zayne and tell her concerns and she will help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in a twin room during Whidbey Island Race Week in 2011.

From the outside it looks a bit run-down. Maybe it is showing its age a bit, but for only 6o dollars a night or so, it did everything we needed it to: it was clean, secure and spacious, and it got us going with a light breakfast.

This is not fancy in any way, but next July I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Went out of town for work. Stayed in the hotel for two nights which was very comfortable. Rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfy as well. The remainder of the trip was spent living in the mobile units located behind the hotel. The unit was clean and homey and the rates were excellent. Both my roommate and I felt very safe especially for two women staying alone. The staff was awesome and every request we made was fulfilled. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and I will most definitely be returning there even for a vacation. Thanks to Zane, Linda, Bob and all the staff, we really enjoyed ourselves even though we were there for work.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel was really nice, but stayed longer in the mobil park behind the hotel, had all the comforts of home, price was excellent, covieniant to work in anacortes, very clean and quiet. the service was great. What ever we didnt have Ms zane took care of it before we got home. We will defintely go back there again. Not to mention we had a beautiful view of deception pass every morning going in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at the Auld Holland Inn for a week in September 2011. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Always available to help when needed. I knew beforehand that the hotel was not your upscale modern contemperary type and that was in my opinion a good thing. The room had the feel of a home with some furnishings that I would expect to see in a house. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to get a warm and home based atmosphere and a one-on-one with management .... the price was affordable also.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I spend three nights at the Auld Holland Inn booked on the www.
Since our travels take us rarely into the US I am not entirely sure what to expect for U$ 79. In one of the comments I read " "you get what you pay for". As far as our room was concerned - we picked the slightly more expensive non- smoking room - I tend to go along with that assessment. I suppose it's all relative and depends on what your expectations are. "Old world charm" aside, frayed comforters, burned out light bulbs and make-up stains on the pillow case is not what one relishes. The beds were comfortable enough - I never could get used to the blanket/bed sheet bedding - but I did appreciated the three pillows, each being of different density for added individual comfort. The heater/air conditioner (a sore point in a lot of more modern hotels) worked like a charm, once I established the desired setting.
A lot of ink has been wasted in the mention of the "Antiques, handpicked by the owner". Not that we cared one way or the other, but our furniture/art work was just plain old and more of the swap shop variety.
The most irritating thing however had to be the fact, that the single wash facility was situated inside the room, not allowing for any privacy at all.
Although not advertised, there was a small continental breakfast included which served oatmeal, orange juice, hardboiled eggs, some danish and coffee or tea in the main reception area which indeed is very quaint.
The service was friendly throughout and since my wife and I spent most of the daytime sightseeing our stay overall turned out to be comfortable.

Room Tip: pick an upper room ! since it is an older Hotel/Motel (wood-frame construction) the "creeking&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auld Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Holland Inn

Address: 33575 Highway 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world & European design & architecture, rooms are designer decorated & feature antiques - 8 mi from Deception Pass State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Auld Holland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Holland Hotel Oak Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Holland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.