We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Coachman Inn Oak Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Coachman Inn to your Saves list
The Coachman Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Coachman Inn Oak Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Coachman Inn on April 26. I had a LivingSocial offer and we had never been to Oak Harbor. The desk staff were friendly and efficient. It is a very nice property, our room spacious, with two queen beds and a kitchenette. The pint of ice cream presented at check-in was a delightful touch and very tasty. Everything was sparkling clean and well-maintained. The only noise factor we noted seemed to be from the shower or some other rushing water source in an adjoining room, but it happened only a few times. My sole complaint concerns the breakfast provided. On the day we were there there was scrambled eggs with diced ham, and a large vat of sausage gravy. We do not eat pork in any form so were unable to partake of the hot breakfast. We had a biscuit and piece of toast and departed. It would have been nice to have some plain eggs offered, since the sausage gravy also contained meat for those who wished to partake. We would definitely stay there again, but not depend on the motel for breakfast. We would either prepare our own in the room or go elsewhere. All in all it was a very good experience and one we could recommend to others.

Room Tip: 431 was on the second level, a view of the parking lot, but no noise from SR 20 on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    56
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
57
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Battle Ground, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The front staff was very friendly and the front office area was clean. Our room was nice sized, clean and comfortable. The only down side was it was quite away from the front office and the breakfast room and the closest to the road. With that being said we did not hear any road noise at night but I think that could be cause it was during the middle of the week when we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orting, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went a recent weekend at the Coachman Inn. The room was ok quite outdate but clean for the most part. The nights were noisey and load. A lot of teenage traffic, howling and partying.
When we asked about the situation we were told there was nothing that could be done that the quiet hours were 10 pm- 5am. well the noise continued most of the night. we were very disappointed in this part of our stay. The breakfast was ok but nothing to get excited about.
Several of the staff came off as not very interested in helping you when you came to the office.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked a room, at the Coachman recently, mostly because it is dog friendly. Looking at the website we knew the rooms were outdated and given how affordable the room was, we were not expecting anything. But we were pleasantly surprised! The staff at check in and check out were super friendly. They seemed genuinely happy to help us and let us check in early. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. They are definitely outdated, but they are spacious and come with a fridge and newer tv. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms are all on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The room was very nice and we appreciate very much the staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful in every question that we asked. It is definitely a place to consider when visiting this delightful island.
Thank you very much, especially Beth

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies to see the bay others have sliding doors - I would ask for your preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the motel for a night last summer. Although it was adequate for our stay, the place was a bit dated. Rooms were clean enough. We used the pool and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi area is pretty small and could be maintained a bit cleaner. The breakfast that was provided was average options wise. The breakfast room gets very crowded and there were not enough tables to seat everyone. Service was average as well. It seemed like a very popular place for a stay at the island, but I may try other options to stay next time I visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a well run, resonably priced hotel that is dog friendly. Behind the hotel is a quiet road for dog walking. The beds are comfortable. Even though this is a fairly large hotel, it was quiet. It is not a chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn

Address: 32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocme to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.