We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Inn

Save Saved
You added The Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coachman Inn
32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Harbor
BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Above average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What we liked: pool, location, price, friendly staff.
What we did not like: dated furnishings; carpet, doors and walls looked dirty and worn.
What was just OK: breakfast, cleanliness of room.
Overall, an OK place to stay....we would probably stay again if coming to Whidbey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
47
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To begin at the beginning the front desk clerks were all horrible. They would not allow the AAA discount. We had a 1.5 hour wait for our room and did not get the room till 4:15. Could you say, "sorry"? We were put in a "suite" it was large but decorated by Grandma. The hot tub was cold as was breakfast. There were 3 garbage bags next to the front desk for two days (at least). We found the TV remote under the bed. The small dining table had chairs soiled beyond belief. My wife tried to take a bath after getting a chill in the hot tub. The water came out the color of diarrhea. We boiled water to brush our teeth. We got to breakfast early enough for cold scrambled eggs. As we checked out around 9:30 we heard other guests complaining about no food. They ran out. At check out, I complained about the bath water and suggested they not rent the room until a repair could be made. They blew it off. We paid full bore for our "suite" in this dump. Stay away... there is a Best Western a block away.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and check the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on to this hotel and could not believe all they offered at an amazing price but thought we would take a chance. When we got there we were blown away....we only booked one night but ended up staying 3 and really whished we had booked our whole holiday here. So peaceful, so beautiful, excellent service, the room was awesome, we will definitely come back here again. One of those gems you want to tell everyone about but also want to keep your own little secret! I love this place....serenity plus. Everyone was so kind, helpful, and very friendly. You will never find a better deal than this. Rooms very clean as well. So much I could say but hope you get the message and just go check it out..you will not be disappointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I gave this a very good not an excellent only because of the location. I do not generally like to stay in hotels in strip malls but in the end, we found the location ideal for traveling around the island. It was close enough to Deception Pass, the reason we came to the island.Also, the staff was excellent from check in to breakfast service. They gave us ideas and suggestions of what to do, how to get there and where to eat. The staff is very hard working, trying to make sure that every guest's needs are meet. The rooms are basic but clean with a small refrigerator, free WI- FI, etc. There is an outside heated pool, hot tubs, several laundry facilities( a big plus) and a variety of rooms to accommodate a variety of needs. They also provide a complimentary hot breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, fruit, cereal, and yogurt.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Arrived without a reservation at a fully booked hotel. Our receptionist called all places on & around the island without success. Eventually found a vacancy in the system - a nice room with 2 double beds. Made our weekend! All along staff were very helpful & friendly.

Skipped breakfast next morning & went to Greek restaurant next door.

We shall definitely stay there if we visit the island again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

One of the best hotel in Oak Harbour. We went for the july 4th fireworks in the Wind Jammer park and was not disappointed. Bed rooms, Bathrooms and lenins were clean. Average standart breakfast (only scrambled eggs and waffers are hot). Safeway and Walmart is at the driving distance. Small pool for people to enjoy. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Coachman Inn for three nights in July. Our experience was excellent. Every staff member we were in contact with was friendly, helpful and professional. They provided suggestions for places to eat, visit and tour. We were even tipped off on a semi-private beach to explore!

I was traveling with two children and my retired parents. We first reserved the "King Room" which had one bedroom with a king bed and a main room with two queens, a living area and a kitchen. There had been an electrical surge on premises and the Wifi was not working. Unfortunately, the TVs weren't working well either.

When we went to breakfast the next morning, we mentioned the TV problem. The staff was unable to fix the TVs in our room but did provide a new (nicer!) room for no additional fee. They were very friendly and accommodating and even came over to help carry suitcases.

Our new room was considered a "penthouse" room. It was wonderful. Two bedrooms, two baths and a large living space including washer/dryer. They even provided roll-away beds for the kids. The beds were very comfortable (in both the first set of rooms and the second) and the living room furniture was cushy and welcoming.

The kids loved the breakfast every morning which included waffles and fresh eggs from the owner's own chickens. On the mornings that the waffle maker was not set up, the staff jumped to set it up for us which thrilled the boys!

There is also a heated pool and two hot tubs. Super fun! The pool, like the rooms was very clean. The temperature on the hot tubs was a little cool, but it was great for kids.

Our visit to Whidbey Island was wonderful and we would absolutely stay at the Coachman Inn again.

Room Tip: Be aware, the entire Inn "campus" is rather large and there are no elevators to the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn

Address: 32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocme to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.