We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and a nice change from the big chain hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coachman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Coachman Inn to your Saves list
The Coachman Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming and a nice change from the big chain hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel while on a road trip through Washington. The first night we stayed in a renovated building with two queen beds, a full kitchen, sitting area and patio. It was modern and very clean and a large room that would be able to accomodate a family of 5 easily. After spending the day touring the area, my teenage daughters made me drive the 1/2 hour back to again stay at the hotel rather than stay in one of the larger chains in Burlington. The second night we stayed in a smaller room which was a bit dated but still very clean and had a nice modern bathroom. This hotel reminded me of a hotels from road trips from my childhhood. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, a lovely warm pool in a pretty setting and a friendly service. Great rates considering the breakfast, free internet and amenities. Yes the interent is spotty and we did have to login again a few times but the charm of the hotel makes up for the inconvenience and my kids didn't even feel the need to sit on Facebook while we were there as they loved the pool. If you are looking for a break from the large impersonal chain hotels I would highy recommend this hotel. Got down the street to Applebees for dinner- there you can get free internet if you need it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    56
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
57
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, RI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Room was super clean and comfortable; had one queen bed and a sitting area, equipped with fridge and microwave. My bed was a bit soft, but I liked it that way. Heated pool, although small, was more than adequate, and the hot tub underneath the gazebo was a godsend after a day of sightseeing.Both were open long hours. Used the public computer in the lobby for Internet; it might be a good idea for them to install a second one. Staff was great, and available 24 hours a day. I also liked the fact the Inn is veteran-owned. Continental breakfast included scrambled eggs and,on a couple of days, pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

For an overnight stop the inn was fair value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful, the large room functional, clean, comfortable and quiet. A continental breakfast was included in the price. A room safe would have been welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If a reliable and minimally adequate Internet connection is important to you, do not stay at this hotel. On several days last week downloading even simple e-mail became almost impossible at slower than dial-up speeds. When I raised the problem with the staff, their response was "oh yes that happens when the hotel is full. We are trying to persuade the owner to do something about it". Other guests in the hotel had the same complaint last week and this is an ongoing problem problem judging by other Tripadvisor reviews.
Decor is very dated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The room we had was clean and equipped with a small fridge. Although the Inn says they have wireless, I learned after checking in and having an issue connecting, that anyone with an iPhone or iPad (what I have) has had trouble with the connection. I would finally get online only to be bumped off within minutes. It became too frustrating so I gave up. The continental breakfast was adequate but had green bananas and a pretty poor selection. The pool was great for my grandson and well heated and clean for a night swim.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms in the 100 room number range are close to the pool, which is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Being a military spouse, I like that this property is veteran owned. It is quite charming. We were originally in a king room. The bed was comfortable, the room was a good size and housekeeping did a good job. We tried out the outdoor hot tubs and they were not functioning correctly. The staff upgraded our room to the Commodore Suite that included a jacuzzi in the room. It was equipped with a fridge, microwave, cooktop, small kitchen and a huge bathroom. There were a lot of maintanence issues in that room so we were moved again, this time to the Admiral Suite which was very similar to the Commodore. It featured a small kitchen table, small kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and cooktop. The bathroom is large. There is a small balcony with sliding glass doors as well. Neither of the suites were easy on the eyes as far as decor goes. They were quite dated. Next time we are in town, we will explore some other options.

To summarize:

Pros: comfortable beds, great staff, large rooms
Cons: confusing numbering system for rooms which can make locating your room difficult, dated decor, old appliances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Paid 99.00 for room with queen bed. Microwave, small fridge, blow dryer and ironing board and iron. Room is in perfect shape as is entire hotel. Great value, clean and remodeled. Laundry room on floor, you'll need it if you visit the National Park. Definitely would stay here again! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Inn

Address: 32959 SR 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocme to the world of old-fashioned hospitality. Explore the many options of our immaculate 100 rooms and conference inn. All rooms provide full baths with shower and tub, coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryers and free high speed wireless internet service. Many of our rooms also have extra special features like Jacuzzi tubs and kitchenettes. Each room is individually decorated for that unique personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel
Coachman Hotel Oak Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coachman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.