We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acorn Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Big Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you pay $59 for a hotel in a premium tourist area you are at best making going to be taking a risk in some form. At the Acorn Motor Inn I was pleasantly surprised, for what it got us.
Here is what you do not get:
1. Good customer service
2. A good continental breakfast
However you do get:
1. A very clean room, newly remodeled
2. A comfortable bed
Oddities:
1. Wayyyy to much furniture in the room.
2. An odd perfume smell (not too strong).
Fine stay, actually better than expected. You won't be sending any pictures of the front facade to impress your friends.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
45
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I got reservations early. Nice clean and spendy. Close to vegas prices.
We were moved. But we ended up in the bridal suite.
Big BIG ROOM! nice jacuzzi tub. 2 tvs. Separate bedroom
Very quiet. Off all rooms in 4 months including vegas this is the nicest.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My fiance and I stayed at Oak Harbor for a weekend getaway. The hotel was recently renovated in the inside, so the room was beautiful. The tv is a large flat screen tv and has free HBO. There is also a sofa, desk, fridge, and microwave. Free breakfast is included, but there is not a great variety. The room and bathroom are very clean. The only reason why I'm not giving five stars is because there was no hair blower and the free Wi-fi kept getting disconnected. However, it was a great stay overall for a very affordable price!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We were visiting for ten days. Suggestion, phone in for reservations for best rate. Upon arriving, the outside was definitely a motel and I was skeptical. During check in we filled out our information on an old-fashion form, which we were perfectly fine. Our original reservation was 2 queens. Mr Wang, pleasant gentlemen at front desk offered us the suite for a special rate, since we were staying for ten days. The first suite had an issue with heating but with one call Mr. Wang rushed to our aid. We ended up with a different suite. We had a two bedroom, with a separate living room, bathroom, dining room, kitchen and laundry facility. The sinks and cabinetry were dated but the rest of the furniture, carpeting and accents were updated and very nicely done. Comfortable beds and couches. Place very clean! We did not partake in the free continental breakfast since we made our own each morning. Wi-Fi okay. These accommodations are located behind and detached from motel. Safeway and Walmart nearby. Plenty of local mom and pop restaurants and chain within minutes. Well worth it! Thank you Mr. Wang for suggesting the suite!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We were a little skeptical at first when we saw the outside. Dated. Inside, however we were very pleased. Everything had been updated. Not just the furniture which was too large for the rooms but very nice. It looks like the rooms were taken down to the bare walls and floor. New carpet, new molding including crown, tile, fixtures, EVERYTING! A lot of effort and money went into this and it shows. Better than the Candlewood Suits and the Best Western bay far.

My only complaint would be with the owner. I booked 2 rooms for 4 nights each. I was traveling in from the end of a business trip and my wife and family were coming from home. My arrival was delayed due to snow and ice on some of the passes coming over the mountains. My wife checked in at 7:00pm and asked if one of the rooms could have the reservation pushed to the following night. This was not possible due to the late hour and that the hotel was full. I had no problem with this. It was after all a guaranteed late arrival reservation. I pushed on and arrived at 4:00am rather than stopping and getting a room elsewhere. When I arrived, the hotel had its vacancy sigh on and the parking lot was at 25%. We were lied to. This I can’t let go. I won’t stay here again because of this. It’s a shame because the price and hotel are great. I just can’t abide the ethics. Make your own decision. We are a proud Navy family!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

First night was ok. Rooms are much nicer from inside. Wish there was coffee in the room. I'm an early riser and the coffee in the lobby was old. Room was a bit crowded with furniture. Comfortable bed. Flat pillows. Very large tv for the room size. Nice place for the price.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We needed overnight lodging on Whidbey island and decided to try Acorn Motor Inn for the first time as TA reviews were generally positive. I made reservations directly with the inn via phone to avoid the web reservation surcharge. We arrived after 10pm after a full day of traveling from out of state. We unexpectedly were upgraded to a 2 room suite which was large and spacious. The suite included a small fridge and microwave. The suite was neat and tidy, although the bedroom area was initially a bit musty. The sink area and the separate toilet/bath room appeared to have been updated in recent years and appeared clean. This suite is located at the top of the stairs. Note, there are only stairs--no elevator to reach the second floor.

The small lobby houses 2 vending machines and the (included) continental breakfast counter. During our stay, the continental breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, orange juice, sliced white bread and spreads, and Costco-type muffins. Trays and a toaster were also available.

A Safeway grocery store and gas station is located across the street. A Walgreens drugstore is located a block down the street.

The Acorn Motor Inn provided good value for us during our travels in WA and met our expectations for a motor inn.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.