We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acorn Motor Inn review, Oak Harbor, WA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acorn Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Washington USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Acorn Motor Inn review, Oak Harbor, WA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

While I rate this as average, the rooms were clean and the bed very comfortable. It is not a 5 star motel but it was very satisfactory to us. Muffins and bagels with coffee and OJ for breakfast. A refrigerator in room and a microwave. There was a Safeway(6am opening) across busy street with a light, some fast food and a Walmart close by. There was a nice beach withing walking distance if you were a regular walker. I would stay in this motel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
46
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable and restful overnight stay at this inn. Room was spacious and clean - parking convenient.
We didn't eat the breakfast offerings as had other plans, but noticed basic items were offered.
Good choice for overnight on Oak Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, Callifornia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really don't know why there are complaints about the Acorn. I can understand being a little put out if you wanted a non-smoking room and none were available, but our experience at the Acorn was excellent! The room was large, very clean, and beautifully furnished. The bed was quite comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast, albeit limited, was more than adequate for a continental-style breakfast - blueberry muffins, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins, jams, etc., plus coffee and orange juice. Hubby and I stayed here one of the last nights of a 2 week road trip, and our experience at the Acorn was every bit as nice as several resorts where we stayed - some costing over $200 a night, while our room at the Acorn cost $69. I'm a picky person, too, yet I found nothing to complain about...well, maybe powdered creamer instead of half-n-half for my morning coffee, but that's it. I highly recommend the Acorn.

Room Tip: Room 106 is large with a king-size bed, non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We decided to attend the Anacortes Crafts Festival and couldn't find a hotel, so I used an online service to search for any available rooms in the area. Acorn Motor Inn was the only place that had vacancy, so I booked 2 rooms through the online service. I then called the hotel directly the next day to confirm the booking.
My daughter and brother-in-law were the first to arrive for check-in, only to find out that one of our rooms was a smoking room, not non-smoking as we had specified. The owner said they were "all out" of non-smoking rooms and had been "airing it [the smoking room] out all day" and "it should be fine." As anyone knows, the smell of smoke gets trapped in rooms, in the walls and fabric, and there is little you can do to remove it, so it's never "fine". Arguing with him did no good, and as there were no other rooms nor hotels available within an hour's radius, we knew we were stuck. On top of this, no apology was delivered, just a droning lecture about how booking online costs him more money, and we should always contact the hotel directly. My brother-in-law, quite put out with this rude behavior, wanted to respond, yet could not understand the owner very well, and repeatedly had to ask him, "What?... What was that?" It was ridiculous and extremely arrogant of the owner to keep going on about a petty point, instead of apologizing to the customer!
My sister-in-law and I arrived later, and were treated to the same tedious lecture about the evils of online booking. When I attempted to respond to this rude, arrogant man, he just cut me off and kept talking! He certainly doesn't have to worry about me booking online for his hotel anymore.
The rooms were average, clean enough, with a fridge and microwave. The breakfast was a joke, but better than nothing, I suppose. We did not partake, as we left one morning before it was ready, and skipped it the next.
The doors on the rooms do not have a chain or a catch, but there is a rubber doorstop provided which you can wedge under the door after it is locked. And you WILL want to do so, as the doors at the end of the halls (both upper and lower) do NOT lock and remain open ALL NIGHT! So even though there may be someone at the front desk (?), anyone at all can enter the hotel through the corridor doors! No security at all. I did hear people in the hall at night and a couple of times someone messed with the door, but can't be sure who it was or why (wrong room? a robber?) Also, even though we put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign, the maid (I hope it was the maid) repeatedly kept trying to come in and clean our room, starting at 7:08 AM!! We called out to go away for a couple of hours, to no avail.
We checked out a day early to head home, and received a phone call from the owner at six o'clock pm that evening (Is it coincidence that he phoned precisely when free cancellation ends? I think not.) to inquire where we were-- the maid had "just discovered" [Sure] that our luggage was gone! Were we coming back? When I said that we had checked out, he replied that we would be charged for the last day, as we had not notified the hotel before 6pm that we weren't returning. I told him that we turned in our keys and checked out, surely that indicated we wouldn't return. As usual, he kept up a barrage of excuses and lectures, ending with, "You will be getting no refund!" before he hung up on me.
Needless to say, I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We took our two grandchildren and stayed here for two nights. We were very pleased with the décor, staff, cleanliness, etc. Big screen TV was a plus and it was nice to have microwave and fridge with the kids along.
Continental breakfast consisted of muffins (very Good) or bagels and juice. Very centrally located for exploring the various parks and beaches on Whidbey Island or taking a run up to Anacortes.
Last but certainly counts a lot to us--the beds were GREAT!! Will certainly return, oh yes, the cost was very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had no choice but to stay at the Acorn, I could not believe that I had to pay $189 before tax for a room that was worth $100. The muffin for breakfast was frozen, I would not stay there again. Expensive!!!! I am used to getting a nice room for the price we paid. Never again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were treated badly upon check-in and things went down hill from there. The room was dated, the mattresses old and lumpy, and the pillows were very thin and there were not enough to compensate for this. No extra pillows or blankets were available in the room. No coffee-maker, iron or blow-dryer in the rooms. What hotel does not have a blow-dryer at least? The breakfast was minimal at best- muffins and toast was the extent of it. How this hotel got such glowing reviews is beyond me. We were completely unimpressed and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Never again..

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.