We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beds and a Lot More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Ellensburg, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Beds and a Lot More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We took our two grandchildren and stayed here for two nights. We were very pleased with the décor, staff, cleanliness, etc. Big screen TV was a plus and it was nice to have microwave and fridge with the kids along.
Continental breakfast consisted of muffins (very Good) or bagels and juice. Very centrally located for exploring the various parks and beaches on Whidbey Island or taking a run up to Anacortes.
Last but certainly counts a lot to us--the beds were GREAT!! Will certainly return, oh yes, the cost was very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Washington, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had no choice but to stay at the Acorn, I could not believe that I had to pay $189 before tax for a room that was worth $100. The muffin for breakfast was frozen, I would not stay there again. Expensive!!!! I am used to getting a nice room for the price we paid. Never again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were treated badly upon check-in and things went down hill from there. The room was dated, the mattresses old and lumpy, and the pillows were very thin and there were not enough to compensate for this. No extra pillows or blankets were available in the room. No coffee-maker, iron or blow-dryer in the rooms. What hotel does not have a blow-dryer at least? The breakfast was minimal at best- muffins and toast was the extent of it. How this hotel got such glowing reviews is beyond me. We were completely unimpressed and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Never again..

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in an apartment suite here for two nights. Accommodation on Whidbey Island was difficult to find, so for that reason we were thankful to find this spot. The kitchen had scare utensils, and was far from clean and he suite had a distinct unpleasant odor (the two may be related). The beds were very soft, but comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Stay in Coupeville rather than Oak Harbor if you can. Oak Harbor is more of a military town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good value, clean premises, nice room, comfortable bed. Located close to facilities. On main road but no noise; has blackout drapes & effective yet quiet AC. Often available for less than area average. Two deficits: No in-room coffee & a very minimal continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a hidden gem, do not judge the Inn by the outside, the inside is worth a try. Super clean, and good quality furniture. The free breakfast is simple but enough to get you on the road.We have paid almost twice the rate of the Acorn and not had any free breakfast or as pleasant rooms.Its on the main road we we did not hear too much noise. Worth the money will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Acorn Motor Inn for a week while visiting relatives in Oak Harbor. The motel was very clean, the bed very comfortable, and the owner very welcoming. We were very pleased with our stay and will,definitely stay here next time. Very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.