We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Acorn Motor Inn
31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
North GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Newly remodeled and clean, clean, clean. Great location, friendly staff, no view but convenient to everything. Bed and pillows fluffy and comfortable. Best of all, can walk to Seabolt's Smokehouse for delicious smoked salmon. If we are ever in the area again we will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Remodeled and clean - nice looking.
Continental breakfast - mediocre.
Coffee Makers - not available in rooms.
Bed frames - over-sized and hazardous.
Good value for the money when not booked through Expedia.
If booked through Expedia - extra charge of $8/50 to cover the cost of Expedia services to the hotel, not disclosed by Expedia !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our tour of the west coast. The room was very nice and the bed was oh so comfortable. Great location, close to everything. Breakfast (which we were not expecting) was muffins or bagels and juice. Overall, very nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was traveling with my husband and three kids for a quick weekend away. The gentleman at the front desk offered to move us to a bigger room with more beds for a nominal change in rate, not much more than a rollaway. Clean, comfortable, quiet, pretty, well stocked small hotel close to many conveniences. It is right in the middle of town, but for us this was great. My teens went out geocaching nearby and to Starbucks while we put the small fry down. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'm in my 60's and was traveling alone. I had booked a Queen Room, but the friendly gentleman at the desk gave me a suite, which was more like a 2 bedroom apartment, in a safe spot that had parking right in front. He even walked me to the room. The rooms were freshly painted and carpeted, with crown molding and lovely window dressings in all the rooms. The flat screen in the main room is enormous and there is another TV in one of the bedrooms!
I will recommend this to all of my Alaskan friends (and to all reading this)!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just returned from a two day stay at the Acorn Motor Inn.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, even shifting our reservation at the last minute with no issues. But most importantly, our room was spotless. The bed was firm and comfortable and all the fixtures and furnishings were in very good condition. It appears that the building has had a recent renovation and the quality of materials and workmanship is all very good.
The grounds and building are also very well kept and neat and tidy.
We would not hesitate to stay again next time we are visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My brother and his family have stayed here before and recommened it and so do I.

The outside of the building looks a little warn, but inside has been remodeled. The room looked all new.

The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were a little thin. The room has big TV comfortable chairs, new microwave and fridge.

The shower was great lots of hot water.

The continental "breakfast" is coffee, bagles, muffins.

They wifi was good, the owners supper friendly.

Some of the Oak Harbor residents have loud mufflers, but road noise was not bad, but if that bothers you I would ask for a room away from the road.

The rooms are very dark at night, good black out curtains.

Near to lots of restaurants, Safeway, Coin Laundry, Walgreens.

Room Tip: Some of the Oak Harbor residents have loud mufflers, but road noise was not bad, but if that bothers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.