We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms! Very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acorn Motor Inn
31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great rooms! Very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Hotel seems very well maintained and looks like its in a consistent state of deep cleaning. Rooms get very dark at night- great if your light sensitive bad if you're a frequent night bathroomer- would be awesome to have a small night light in the bathroom- will have to pack our own in the future. Huge TVs, ornate furniture. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
44
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

In short, it is a good place to stay. All is new, starting from soft bed, wallpapers/paint, and fixture in bathroom. You will not expect this from the outside. The State Hwy 20 is busy and noisy during the day, but it was not a problem during the night. You will find Wallgreen, and Safeway next door, and Wallmart is a few blocks away.
One of the extra pillow was kind of dirty, but they replaced it next day.
The breakfast is very limited: bread, toasts, and jam plus cofee and/or tea. However the rates ($) are simply great. Also, the owner told us that dealing directly with the hotel (rather than with the booking agencies) would save us the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room was very nice and clean, with beautiful furnishings. The owner was friendly. But, like others have mentioned, though, don't book online - call and reserve your room directly. The owner added $16.50 to our charges for the "online booking fee." The hotel failed to provide this disclosure when they listed themselves with Expedia, which is not a good tactic at all. We thought we had chosen a less expensive hotel in town, but it turns out we could have stayed at another property for less money and gotten points for our rewards account. We try to "stay local, eat local" on our journeys, but we aren't willing to pay a premium to do so when there is a trusted brand for a comparable price. As mynewstart77 says, this was a "bait and switch."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just dropped in needing a room to stay one night and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the interior furnishings compared to what I expected by the appearance of the dated exterior. I would definitely stay again as it was clean, quiet, comfortable and friendly. What a beautiful renovation! Thanks Acorn Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a no frills hotel.
The rooms are newly remodeled, the place is clean and the owner friendly. Not bad for the price but call and book direct to avoid billing trouble. The owner has an accent and can be hard to understand so have a clean phone line when you book.

Room Tip: Take second floor rear rooms away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We needed only a place to put our heads for 4 night, not a fancy resort. We booked the Acorn based on the preponderance of good reviews on TripAdvisor, and on the advice of one review, booked the "single room". With only one Queen bed and two quite comfortable, large chairs, it was great!

The owner, is a very pleasant (if sometimes a bit hard to understand) and helpful chap, who lowered the price by $20 per night without our asking, in return for the 4 nght stay. For the price, basic and clean would have been fine, but the room was lovely! Spotlessly clean, large, comfortable and fully renovated. I've stayed in rooms at $200/night that did not match the quality and cleanliness of the Acorn Inn.

The bed was very comfortable and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Don't be fooled by the outside. This is an older hotel, that the new owner apparently closed for a half year, to completely renovate the place. We have friends on Whidbey Island, and you can bet we'll stay there, again!

Room Tip: If there are just two of you, go for the "single room". Nicely appointed, and one bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed the cozy comfort at this non-descript inn near Oak Harbor's historic downtown. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The interior of the hotel was recently remodeled. The colors are warm and the furnishings tastefully plush. It's very obvious that the owner takes excellent care of the place: the room was spotless and the flowers outside were gorgeous. It is an excellent value for the money. Only things I'd change: We had the large 1-bedroom suite with jetted tub. When the cleaning staff cleaned the tub, they weren't aware that the jets need to be turned straight or down, not up. The back jets were pointed up and created a bit of a mess until I could get them adjusted. Also, as large as the living room is, it needs a game or small dining table and a couple of chairs to fill the space and create a pleasant spot for in-room breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.