We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“older hotel, new remodel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acorn Motor Inn
31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“older hotel, new remodel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a no frills hotel.
The rooms are newly remodeled, the place is clean and the owner friendly. Not bad for the price but call and book direct to avoid billing trouble. The owner has an accent and can be hard to understand so have a clean phone line when you book.

Room Tip: Take second floor rear rooms away from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
44
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Logan Lake, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We needed only a place to put our heads for 4 night, not a fancy resort. We booked the Acorn based on the preponderance of good reviews on TripAdvisor, and on the advice of one review, booked the "single room". With only one Queen bed and two quite comfortable, large chairs, it was great!

The owner, is a very pleasant (if sometimes a bit hard to understand) and helpful chap, who lowered the price by $20 per night without our asking, in return for the 4 nght stay. For the price, basic and clean would have been fine, but the room was lovely! Spotlessly clean, large, comfortable and fully renovated. I've stayed in rooms at $200/night that did not match the quality and cleanliness of the Acorn Inn.

The bed was very comfortable and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Don't be fooled by the outside. This is an older hotel, that the new owner apparently closed for a half year, to completely renovate the place. We have friends on Whidbey Island, and you can bet we'll stay there, again!

Room Tip: If there are just two of you, go for the "single room". Nicely appointed, and one bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed the cozy comfort at this non-descript inn near Oak Harbor's historic downtown. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The interior of the hotel was recently remodeled. The colors are warm and the furnishings tastefully plush. It's very obvious that the owner takes excellent care of the place: the room was spotless and the flowers outside were gorgeous. It is an excellent value for the money. Only things I'd change: We had the large 1-bedroom suite with jetted tub. When the cleaning staff cleaned the tub, they weren't aware that the jets need to be turned straight or down, not up. The back jets were pointed up and created a bit of a mess until I could get them adjusted. Also, as large as the living room is, it needs a game or small dining table and a couple of chairs to fill the space and create a pleasant spot for in-room breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last week. Reasonable rates, close to everything in Oak Harbor and the rooms were clean.
They also have a light continental breakfast in the lobby and had microwave and refrigerator (always a plus for families with kids).
The only minor complaint I had was that the TV remote kind'a sucked.. never worked right without having to point it to a receiver in line of sight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The owners were so nice and the rooms were very clean. Highly recommended! Don't be fooled by the outside of the hotel (it looks like it was built in the 70's) the inside has been fully renovated and our room was beautiful. We will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have great internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I felt like I was taking a gamble - seeing the low price - but it was amazing! Although we had to take our luggage up the stairs, the room was quite a surprise. They have all new top quality furniture, large flat screen tv, and granite countertops and modern fixtures. The whole building seemed elegant. Breakfast is the true definition of continental - no sitting area and only pastry and juice. But for the money, who's complaining!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent location, very clean. Helpful owner offers discounts for telephone bookings in off season. He stored our bikes in laundry room overnight. Great beds. You need to get your own coffee and breakfast from the Lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.