We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Pleasant Suprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn Motor Inn to your Saves list
Acorn Motor Inn
31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Gaston, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Suprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place was great! Total update on the interior. The rooms were recently redecorated with new furniture and wallpaper.. beds are nice pillowtop style, very comfy!! Bring your hair dryer and the ammenities are sparse (no coffee maker in room). They do serve
coffee (Folgers) and Muffins bead or bagels (Costco style) in the lobby at 7am. They are the cheapest place on Oak Harbor. Its a good value for the area.
I hope they update the Exterior soon, the sign looks old and faded.

Room Tip: aarp discount and will take dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
44
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here after we got off the ferry from B.C. to Anacortes. The drive over Deception Pass was of interest and Oak Harbor has more amenities than Anacortes. The motel was beautifully decorated with new carpet, wallpaper, furnishings etc. The beds were very comfortable and it was a quiet location. Management was very kind. A great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mizshaunyb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed here before the renovation, and after. It is now nicer than ever, and the owners are just as friendly and accommodating as they have always been. I expected the prices to go up after the renovation, but they didn't. For the price, I can't recommend the Acorn enough! Very comfortable, attractive and pleasant, with convenient parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This place was fine a couple of years ago and we liked it. The Acorn was remodeled I believe within the last year and it is now outstanding. Fine furnishings , bedding, etc. very very nice and clean. All of this with reasonable rates to boot. I don't think you will be disappointed .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

Oustanding service at all hours. Very friendly manager, Greg. Beautiful clean rooms with fridge, microwave and big flatscreen. Near park on water. 10 min from base.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is definitely a great hotel to stay at. It seems that the hotel room gets fully upgraded with brand-new high-quality furnitures. I really like their renovated hotel room and enjoyed the stay there. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to stay in Oak Harbor

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the Acorn a few days ago. As the other reviewer said, the outside is nothing to impress, but the rooms are great.

Apparently this hotel was just completely re-done and the rooms look like it. Our King room had a wonderful king bed with a massive headboard and marble footboard, a big oversized stuffed chair, big flat screen TV, and was very, very quiet. Double paned glass windows, and blackout curtains kept it that way. I only heard other guests occasionally
We got a great bargain- much less expensive than the other options in Oak Harbor, and actually very convenient to the Marina, across the street from Safeway.

The manager is really nice. Breakfast minimal, but they did have decent big blueberry muffins. No pool, which wasn't an issue for us.

If you have a reason to stay in Oak Harbor, unless you have kids or don't care about value, check out the Acorn Inn- if you are doubtful- ask to see a room. They are really, really nice.

Room Tip: Call and ask for the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.