We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pork ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron's Livingroom Dining - CLOSED

Cameron's Livingroom Dining
830 SE Pioneer Way #106, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
1(360) 240-1222
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cameron's has been doing business in the San Juan Island for 7 years,serving the loyal guest great food ,great decor and great service. We recently moved to our new location in Oak Harbor Wa . We still offer exceptional cusine, and a great dining exsperience. We are pleased to be in Oak Harbor and just a half hour from Anacortes. Join us for Lunch,Dinner or Sunday Brunch and see what all the great talk is about. Chef David and myself will take great care of your dining exsperience. Give us a call to reserve your table or please come on in and introduce yourself. Thank you from all of us at Cameron's
Coupeville, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pork ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although each part of the menu is separate in price: appetizers, salad, entree, drinks, & dessert and can add up, the servings are a good size. I enjoy the ribs best. Not served as a rack but rather individually, they are filling and delicious. It's location is tucked away in an indoor mall. Service was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    14
    5
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Put this on your list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are visiting Whidbey Island and staying in Oak Harbor for the weekend. We asked the gal at the front desk for her recommendations for dinner as we always like to ask a local. She gave us four or five, but Cameron's was very clearly her favourite. It turns out, it is with good reason.

For starters, the restaurant is located in the lovely downtown area, tucked inside a small mall with interesting looking shops. The place itself has the friendly feel of a small town cafe but there is also a certain elegance which makes it a perfect choice for every occasion. Cameron himself (as it turns out), is the host and after seating you and noting the specials, he introduces you to your waiter. Cameron stops by from time to time to see how things are going, and is open to chit chat but he definitely knows when to linger and when to move on - both friendly and professional and a very nice hands-on touch indeed. The waiter, Jesus, is also very friendly and came by at just the right times.

Now for the food... Cameron mentioned the soup of the day (a corn chowder which I'm sure is very good), and then he mentioned his award winning mushroom soup adding "for the past 15years." I don't normally have soup on a warm summer evening, but mushroom is one of my favourites. This is not only the best mushroom soup I have ever tasted, it is quite possibly the best SOUP I have ever tasted! In a word - decadent! It is rich with several different layers of flavour on your palette; not a heavy cream- based mushroom soup. Truly divine! I told him it will continue to win awards for the next 50 years. It is definitely a new comfort food I will crave often.

After we both enjoyed our soup, the entrees arrived. I had one of the specials - a crusted Alaskan black cod served over mashed potatoes with kale and a lovely sauce surrounding the meal; my husband had the Grilled Country Meatloaf which is served with crispy onions on top and is over mashed potatoes with asparagus and a beautiful cabernet demi-glaze. The cod was nicely prepared, and went very well with it's accompaniments. The kale had just the perfect bit of crunch adding a lovely texture to the meal. And the mashed potatoes are delicious! My husband's dinner was equally as delightful. He followed his dinner with the pineapple-upside down cake which was served with fresh strawberry garnish and a generous dollop of whipped cream. It was also very good -- and large enough for sharing.

The entire menu looks and sounds wonderful. We wish we were here for a month so we could sample everyting on it. Sadly, we have only one more dinner on this particular trip -- but it will definitely be back at Cameron's to try something else!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington, United States
1 review
“Outstanding and a delightful evening dining out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times and have enjoyed it every time. Tonight we had the Cod special, guacamole hamburger with an apple berry crumble dessert and it couldn't have been better. Staff are attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is great and the decor invites you to spend time enjoying scanning the room. If you come to Oak Harbor..eat here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive, average food, limited menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was surprised at the high cost considering how limited the menu was. Not only was it limited, but they few things they served weren't amazing, they were pretty "meh" for the price! The service was great, which is the best thing I can say about it!

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped by with a friend after Zumba for a drink and an appetizer. Had the mushroom crepes and duck meatballs. Both were fantastic. Ambience is lovely too. Oak Harbor has needed this for a long long time. Prices are totally reasonable and I'll be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cameron_morris00, Owner at Cameron's Livingroom Dining, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your time at Cameron's Cafe. We truely try and make our guest comfortable and ensuring your dining exsperience a great one. Thank you Thank you, Cameron Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron's Livingroom Dining also viewed

Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron's Livingroom Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.