We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Central Saanich, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A 2 night stay that we extended to 3, due to comfort and value. A great check-in, and a large comfortable room. Enjoyed the small fitness center, and the breakfast each day was plentiful. Every member of staff we encountered throughout our stay said a friendly hello and wished us a good day. En-route to Oak Harbor we had a pleasant lunch at Nell Thorn restaurant in the cute little town of La Conner. There's a fabulous Chinese restaurant, China City, next to the Best Western, and we also tried BBQ joint which was fantastic. Visiting Coupeville and Langley are a must whilst on Whidbey Island, then catching a Washington State Ferry from Clinton to Mukilteo at $9.75 US for a car and 2 passengers, was very reasonable, and a beautiful ride across. All in all the Best Western was a great base for our mini break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for such an AWESOME overview of your visit to Oak Harbor while on Whidbey Island. I am glad that you enjoyed our fitness center and breakfast. And you even mentioned you found the staff to be friendly. Thank you very much Debbie G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    81
    28
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
64
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had a lot of trouble keeping a receptionist on the phone long enough to book my room, waited on hold for nearly 15 minutes and was hung up on accidentally once. When I called back I ask to speak to the manager who was very apologetic, responsive and helpful. The hotel and room are clean and staff friendly, particularly the breakfast staff at the included continental breakfast. Unfortunately the shower pressure was so high (normally a good thing) that it was painful and could not easily be adjusted. The outdoor pool is advertised as heated but during our visit in late August only the most adventures kids were braving the cold water. Luckily the hot tub was nice and warm. The hotel overall is fine but I'd be open to staying somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We sincerely apologize for having you on hold for an extended period and also for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. I do appreciate you taking the time to place this review. By doing so, you have made it clear that we still have areas that requires improvement. And those improvements will take place. Again I Thank you for this review and do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just like the banner said voted " The Best Place to Stay in Oak Harbor ". We stopped there on our road trip to ????? celebrate 35 year's of marriage . The front desk stuff was awesome. Upon hearing it was our 35th wedding anniversary he up graded our room. The room was of very good size.. The king size bed was so comfortable that we both got a real good night sleep. The room were very clean and nicely appointed. They have a full breakfast with = potatoes, eggs, bacon, cereal, fruit, and a lot more. Has you walked the hall way the hotel stuff from house keeping to mantises to front desk would look at you and say " Hi " with a small on there face.We both wished we could of stayed longer. But we had places to go and things to see. It is a AWSESOME places to stay, and I would drive a extra 50 to 75 miles to stay there again.

Room Tip: The room's on the backside of the hotel are " quieter "
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS on 35 years of marriage, that is so wonderful. A sincere THANK YOU for staying with us as you celebrated and also for sending this oh so thoughtful review. We hope you will return and stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took a group of 12 senior citizens on a Running Away From Home Outing to Whidbey Island and stayed at the Oak Harbor Hotel | BEST WESTERN PLUS Oak Harbor Plaza. Everyone remarked about the cleanliness, easy access room, location near Deception Pass State Park, Ebey's Landing State Park, the Penn Cove Ranch. the nearby lavendar farms, the Whidby Island naval Air Station and lots more shopping sites nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to place this review. Thank you for selecting our hotel, the Best Western Plus, for the Running Away From Home Outing members to call home for awhile. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This motel has large rooms. It is clean and quiet with a great breakfast. The staff was exceptionally helpful with a medical problem that we had. The only complain we had was that the check-out took 15 minutes. They did not supply a bill underneath the door during the night as most hotels do, and everything was done as you left, which meant a significant delay for most people. Still, we'd go there again, just allow more time to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello VirginiaMamaGoose, we apologize that your checkout took longer than normal. We will review our current checkout procedures and implement changes to improve. Thank you for this review and also for indicating you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very nice place to stay with a beautiful setting among the trees. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Bed was comfortable and everything worked correctly in the room and bath. Filling breakfast with eggs, bacon, etc. but no waffles. Easy to find hotel. They even had warm freshly baked cookies upon arrival! Nice touch. We would definitely consider staying here again whenever we get back to Whidby Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Your description of our location is excellent. I am thrilled to read your stay with us was positive and you will definitely consider staying with us again. Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have no qualms about this hotel, everything was as expected for a Best Western. Staff was friendly, and room furniture was fairly updated. Flat screen TV was a nice bonus as well. There was the standard stuff at the complementary breakfast. Oak Harbor is in no way any sort of destination, (we used it as a stopping point from Portland to Orcas Island) so staying there more than one night might have just done me in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Eva B, Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus and placing this review. If and when you are in the area we do hope you will stay with us.


I have no qualms about this hotel, everything was as expected for a Best Western. Staff was friendly, and room furniture was fairly updated. Flat screen TV was a nice bonus as well. There was the standard stuff at the complementary breakfast. Oak Harbor is in no way any sort of destination, (we used it as a stopping point from Portland to Orcas Island) so staying there more than one night might have just done me in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center

Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel with Mitzels restaurant and lounge located on the property. King and queen beds available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary due to seasonal changes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.