We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and unrestful stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loud and unrestful stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed overnight a few weeks ago and was so disappointed at the service and noise level.

I was not treated with the same courtesy as the guests checking in before me and later when I complained about the noise level (sounded like furniture being moved and people walking really loudly around me - for several hours and early in the morning), the front desk clerk was not helpful as evidenced by the continued noise. The room was fine for what it's worth but I will never stay there again based on what seemed like discriminating service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    103
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
81
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a fine stay at this hotel. The room had been recently renovated as far as we could tell, and the front desk staff was very friendly (although probably understaffed). It seems she was covering for two people.

The pool was a good swim. We're pretty sure it's saltwater which is a big plus for any hotel pool in my book.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Reception was very warm and friendly. The room was bright and well appointed. Everything worked as it should including the microwave & wifi. The noise from the Navy Jets was not an issue as they could hardly be heard from the inside. Good show from outside the Hotel! Hot Coffee in the lobby was always in supply. The area for improvement is the Breakfast Experience. Having to go down into a no window basement and find the breakfast area tucked around a corner or two, looking somewhat disjointed, was not expected. It should be on level 1. Having said that the breakfast itself was good but for the TV taking over any conversation. Checkout was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My experience was not all the great. The check-in was a bit subpar. Not all that friendly. The room and bed was okay! The room had a microwave and fridge but I think they were props for how well they worked. I found a few things that housekeeping skipped or missed. The place seems worn and dated. The wi-fi was not as good as it should be. The same old fats and carbs at breakfast. The glass doors that face out back were nice to get the stuff in and out. I am glad I was just there for one night. The only time I got any friendly word was at check-out. A little late when it's at check out!
After a long day and an early start the next day - a friendly pleasant greeting - a room that has everything promised and in working order - and a decent breakfast to send us off in the morning. How hard is that? The Harbor Plaza just skims by on the Best Western Plus. I am being generous with just an "Average" ranking. It's like staying at a "Average" Mom and Pop hotel. I wouldn't stay here again. If I ever got stuck in Oak Harbor again I would shop around, better yet keep driving.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

2nd visit in less than a year to Oak Harbor. Stayed in Candlewood Suites first time and this time opted for Best Western. Much better all around - larger lobby, complimentary breakfast, accomodating staff and cookies in the afternoon! The stairway layout is perplexing so I mostly used elevator. Would stay here again if and when I need to return to Oak Harbor. My stay was 3 days and I would easily have been confortable staying longer.

Room Tip: I asked for and was offered a second floor room on the back side of the hotel. Nice and relatively q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel is right on the highway, so forget about breathtaking views, but it provided everything we needed. Staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and the morning free breakfast buffet was better than most. The wifi was flawless and provided a strong signal. We wish the pool and hot tub had been indoors--we weren't willing to be outside on a chilly evening to soak in the tub. Other than that, we couldn't find a thing wrong with this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside--very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel was the closest Best Western to the anacortes Ferry terminal Approximately 30 minute drive. The staff was very good and the accomodation is located close to good restauraunts. We would have preferred a Best Western closer to the ferry teminal bu that was not to be...one thing to add the pool was outdoors (not open) outdoor hot tub was operating.

Room Tip: Once again ground level, tis hotel islocated close to Whidby Island air station...plenty of jet nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center

Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel with Mitzels restaurant and lounge located on the property. King and queen beds available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary due to seasonal changes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.