We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people, but pricey for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Walden House Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Walden House Inn
Save
You added The Walden House Inn to your Saves list
631 N. Warren Ave, Newport, WA 99156   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Newport B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice people, but pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We truly enjoyed the host couple at this B and B. The room was nice enough, but it was advertised and priced as a "suite" when it was really a room with a bathroom. Breakfast was on-your-own rather than prepared, as it is at every other B and B we've been to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010 via mobile

The owners are friendly and inviting. The room we stayed in was very nice. We loved the king sized comfortable bed. We enjoyed having a small frige in our room. We liked the versatility of choosing to eat in the house kitchen or the more private table in our room. It was nice to have an unscheduled breakfast time. We were able to get up when we wanted and have breakfst at our leisure. I enjoyed socializing with the other guests while my husband perfered the privacy of our room. An overall enjoyable place to stay. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We needed to find an overnight stay in eastern Washington State and on the basis of recent Tripadvisor reports, we selected Walden House and the Desert Room. This is one of their cheaper rooms, but was adequate for one night and we pre-paid. Some of the fittings were cheap and cheerful, but the quality appears to improve in line with the increasing room tariff. The bathroom was fine and the breakfast adequate, so what went wrong? When we arrived the door was opened by a disinterested, unsmiling teenager.His immediate preoccupation was the signing of some invoice paperwork and we were kept in the porch until it was completed. Without explanation of who he was,or why he was there (we assumed correctly that he was the owners' son and they were away for the day) he then showed us to the bedroom, but within a minute was back summoning us to the kitchen, where you apparently prepared your own breakfast. Some batter mix would be available and we were shown the contents of the fridge. With that he unexpectedly disappeared. Left to our own devices we looked around the ground floor. The sinks were full of dirty breakfast dishes; the kitchen counter tops had an ingrained dirty saucepan and stained cup on top of them, whilst there were outside shoes on the furniture. Many of the walls were in a very dark and dismal colour scheme and although there was a hot tub and computer, we had no idea what the house rules were concerning their use by visitors. When it came to dinner-time the house remained empty, so in the absence of any recommendations we drove around this small town, which is far from the most attractive around. We found a cafe, a fast food outlet and a Safeway. We chose Safeway and eat the food in our room and not the kitchen. At about 8.30, I was so puzzled with previous tripadvisor reports, that I was using the house computer to access the appropriate web page,when a man with a tray of eggs appeared and eventually told me he was the owner, who had been in Spokane for the day. He hoped everything was fine, but immediately shot off into an adjacant office. The following morning at 8.00 we went down to breakfast and he was washing the dishes. It emerged that another couple had left early and the others were clearly late risers. He showed us the batter mix, which we politely declined as we believed on our previous kitchen experience that it was the packaged variety, with a very high salt/calory content. This appeared to totally throw him and we subsided into awkward silences and patchy conversations. At about 8.20 and without comment he disappeared back into his office, never to emerge. At 8.30 we washed our dishes and by 8.45 had loaded up the car, whereupon we let ourselves out and drove away. It felt like deserting a sinking ship.We never saw him again, nor his son. We never met his wife and amazingly in a B&B,we never even got to know their names. The departure was as cold and impersonal as the the welcome and the stay. For the first 2 hours that day we explored if it was us and what had we done wrong? Yes we were veterans of North American B&Bs and had never witnessed anything like this, but who knows? Perhaps there was a household problem we knew nothing about. Every owner needs a break, so perhaps it was just bad luck. As a final thought, perhaps you need to be a large family group or be there at the same time as one to enjoy Walden House. We eventually decided that enough was enough. Another day, another dollar. The sun was shining and the next stay had to be far better than this totally joyless experience......surely??

Cheshire, England.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, UT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Comfortable, cozy rooms with private bath. Very accommodating and friendly owners. Good food. Beautiful surroundings. What more can you ask for in a Bed and Breakfast. If our travels bring us this way again, this will be our choice!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

A wonderful family place. Very roomy common areas with nice touches. Rooms with themes and wonderfully appointed. Spotlessly clean, A++++

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

With family located in Newport, WA, we spend a lot of time there and now it's nice to have a place to stay that is perfect in every way.
They have done a fantastic job putting this house together to make guests feel at home. It's warm and very inviting. Your hosts are wonderful and make you feel like part of the family immediately.
We spent so much time talking with the host one morning, we made him a little late with breakfast prep so we pitched in to help. Just made us feel like we were part of the family.
We had the Americano room. We walked in to a gorgeously arranged room. Everything was so clean and the theme was all red, white and blue.
Like everyone, we just want to have a clean room and comfy bed. We got a lot more from the Walden House.
The rooms were immaculate and the beds, OH MY, we just melted into them as we fell fast asleep. They didn't spare any expense. The mattresses are top of the line with lots of very perfect pillows.
They allowed us to check out the other rooms that were empty when we were there and they are just as beautifully decorated.

Now, one poster took a slight shot at their breakfast. If you are like those folks, one that feels like everything should be absolutely perfect on your vacation, then I just have one question for you. "What color is it in your world"?
Their breakfast isn't breakfast at the Ritz but why would I expect it to be when I'm out in the sticks of Newport WA. They serve you a hearty breakfast, usually of your choice, and won't stop serving you until your happy and full.
We enjoyed the company of our host and the other guests while enjoy a wonderful breakfast with lots of fruit and wonderful coffee.
It was a great way to start our day.

If your going to the Newport area, trust us, you won't regret staying with these folks. They earned our future business and I know they'll do the same for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

The kind and gracious host and hostess showed me at least 7 or 8 rooms. All were nicely appointed and spotless. I enjoyed the hearty breakfast served in the kitchen overlooking the hot tub. The place is perfectly located near the center of town and steps away from spectacular hiking trails. It would be a great spot to start or finish the Selkirk Loop which spans Washington, Idaho, and Canada. Personable and informative staff.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Walden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden House Inn

Address: 631 N. Warren Ave, Newport, WA 99156
Location: United States > Washington > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury rooms, covered outdoor spa, and spacious common areas make the Walden House a place you will return to again and again. A large back yard with volley ball/badminton net, and separate children play area make it ideal for weddings and reunions. A public boat launch is just 3/4 mile away. You can walk one block from the Walden house and enter 6 miles of national forest hiking/walking trails. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walden House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.