We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Pass Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Pass Village Inn
Save
You added White Pass Village Inn to your Saves list
48933 US Highway 12, Naches, WA 98937   |  
Hotel amenities
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was hiking the PCT and this lodging just happens to be at the trail intersection. I had made arrangements to begin and end my trip at White Pass. The customer service is terrible!!!! Both of the clerks were extremely unmotivated to provide even a tiny bit of service. Since these are condos with individual owners, the decor and accommodations vary significantly. Both rooms I stayed in were outdated and well worn but mostly clean. There was black mold around the fixtures in the tub of one room. The beds were comfortable in both rooms. The rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathtubs, microwaves, ovens, hot tubs. You need to ask for want you want in order to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great time at White Pass. But the reason for my title and ranking is that in reality everyone in business has to account for real market factors and competitive options when pricing / managing their product. I'm in the resort business myself and I would be ashamed to show my face to our Guests if this was my property.

When planning this trip we had considered returning to Snowbird where we visited six months before but decided since White Pass is a better beginner area for my kids, rather than spend a day in the car getting to Snowbird (or someplace similar), we'd try White Pass. So I'm comparing White Pass to Snowbird and what we would have got there. The price of a studio condo at Snowbird is about the same as a 1 bedroom at White Pass, about $190/night including tax. But remember Snowbird is a rock solid 5 star slopeside world class ski resort and studio at Snowbird is (much) bigger than a 1 bedroom at White Pass.

To be fair, I'll start with the bad and then give a couple good points.

First problem size and design of units. As usual, when we arrived at White Pass I asked for the key to do a quick inspection of the studio unit we'd booked which was supposed to sleep 4. It was smaller than the smallest single room at Motel 6 I've ever seen. You would have to compare it to a room on a live aboard boat, not a condo. And also it was obviously not designed by anyone with an eye for efficiency and aesthetics. So I quickly inquired back at reception as we had $200 of groceries in the car, no time to look elsewhere, and a holiday that was about to fall apart. I was told we're "lucky" cause 1 bedroom unit just became available (wouldn't surprise me somebody showed up, took a look, and walked). It was just big enough that we could squeeze in (wife, 4 yr old, 1 yr old, and myself). That's when our price went from $140 up to $190/night. I would've walked but I was dead certain we'd get charged if we walked since this place won't take AMEX and insisted on Visa/MC. I knew if we walked I'd be in for a long chain of e-mails and forms and might end up paying anyway.

Next problem is service and amenities. They have zero services except the front desk where the two relatively friendly guys who run the place for the owner's association stand by to handle complaints, hand out towels, toilet paper, trash bags, etc.. I could have overlooked the size issue but when we realized we're gonna have to live like astronauts in a space capsule and clean everything ourselves including taking out the trash etc. I began to feel like we really got ripped off.

Any as other reviewers mentioned, the units are old and most don't appear to have been remodeled or upgraded in the last 15-25 years. There are some which look better than others, but unless you know exactly which unit is nicer when you book, it's a roll of the dice.

The good stuff is: property is slopeside, they have a heated pool which is great, in spite of the conditions etc. the atmosphere is pretty good since after overcoming sticker shock, most folks seemed to be having a good time, and the two guys at reception were fairly friendly (I got the feeling they can sympathize with the fact people feel cheated on the price).

So I generously slap a 2 ranking on this property cause the owner's need to wake up and make this property what it could be. I would say a thorough professional remodeling, add at least basic services, or cut price in half or less would do the job. Preferably a combination thereof.

Also, as mentioned in other reviews, the staff are relatively friendly. I spoke with them a little bit about the issues. It's important for folks visiting to keep in mind they don't make managerial decisions. When we checked out on of the guys went up to clean the unit and mentioned we hadn't taken the trash out, first I was irked, but I guess you wouldn't be too happy if you had to work there 18 hours / day clean up the checkouts, handle reservations, handle reception, etc. etc..

Another tip for management, it's easy to see the reservation chart on the wall. If they had a proper website with online booking and a proper front desk reservation system, they'd be able to increase occupancy by 30% to help make up for the necessary rate reduction and cut front staff costs to make up for the direly needed other services. This place is run like a motel from the 1960's same as the rooms look. You really need to wake up. Kicking myself right now for wasting 30 minutes of my time giving advice to these folks after getting ripped off here.

Happy Traveling at another place until management here rethink their marketing. Basically this place is a rip off.

Uncle Eric

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would agree with all of comments stating that the decor is outdated. However, my girlfriend and I truly enjoyed the room (23). Although rather small, it was exactly what we needed for the night. The bed was surprisingly very comfortable. The unit had a microwave, stove, etc. for cooking. The staff was extremely friendly and made us feel at home.

I would recommend this for someone who is not particularly concerned about the decor of the place they are renting. For a couple like ourselves it was perfect for what was needed.

Room Tip: Our unit was on the bottom floor. You could hear the upstairs pretty easy - would recommend trying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbor pee. Smells musty and is very cramped. No TV reception, only a tiny DVD with a 10" screen. Poor cell reception, no restaurants convenient.

Overall, wish I never got stuck here. Anywhere else is better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for only one night although we had booked two. We had two adults and three kids and our cabin felt cramped, somewhat dingy and outdated, but I think the mangement tried their best. TV was up to date and there were plenty of DVDs for the kids. Also, they loved the heated pool surrounded by snow. We had the best time skiing at White Pass. Went for April spring break and had the mountain to ourselves -- no lines at all!!! Also, we had to go down the mountain for restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here two nights with my family of four for a quick ski trip. The room we stayed in was outdated and cramped. For the price we paid, I expected a lot more. The carpet in the room was so dirty, I wouldn't walk on it in my bare feet! The high price you pay to stay here is for the location only. It is within walking distance of the ski lifts. The manager here is cranky and seems bothered by the guests. The hot pool was nice, the only reason we would come back. We enjoyed a hot soak after a long day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Make sure you request and get a fully renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here for a ski week. There were two of us in a one-bedroom condo, and, although it was pretty small, it was just right for our needs. It was spotlessly clean, and featured a great view of the ski hill. Note that it was a small bedroom with a double bed + two bunk beds. For two people was fine; three or four would get pretty cozy!

There are ski lockers at street level, and it's just a short walk across the highway to the ski area.

You need to plan to cook for yourself if you're here midweek in winter - but that's OK, we didn't mind that.

Swimming pool at spa temperature is great, esp. in the snow!

Service was friendly and helpful. Be sure to look for "Nick," the very friendly office kitty.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Pass Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pass Village Inn

Address: 48933 US Highway 12, Naches, WA 98937
Location: United States > Washington > Naches
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Naches
Number of rooms: 52

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Pass Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.