We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Tours Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour

The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour
8415 Paine Field Blvd, Mukilteo, WA 98275
425-438-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$65*
and up
Boeing Factory and Optional Restoration Center...
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Mukilteo
Type: Museums, Science Museums, Tours, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here you can tour the original Boeing Airplane factory and learn about the history of aviation
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best Tours Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been on other manufacturing plant tours before where cars and farm equipment are built, but none of them compare to the sheer magnitude of seeing some of the largest airplanes in the world being built. The tour takes you to the hangars where the Boeing 747, 777, and 787 are produced and while you don't get to actually be on the plant floor itself, you don't need to be to see the sheer size and scale of the operations going on at Boeing. This tour really gives you a true appreciation for the effort and detail that goes into producing airplanes.

The tour guide we had was extremely knowledgeable and quite witty, which only enhanced the tour experience even more. I only wish there had been more time to spend just admiring the planes under construction; the tour seemed a bit rushed at times. The tour does give you a full 90 minutes, but at least 15-20 of that is spent getting onto and off the tour bus and driving from the welcome center to the hangar itself.

We only had a short amount of time but I would have loved to have spent more time in the welcome center admiring the airplane parts inside and having the opportunity to watch planes take off and land at Paine Field just outside the center. The $18 fee ($16 if you purchase ahead online) was well worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for coming all the way from Wisconsin to visit. We are so happy you enjoyed the tour. Please visit us again when you have more time to explore the Gallery. We'd love to spot airplanes with you at Paine Field from our Strato Deck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    216
    85
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A flight into the future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

What an interesting place. I haven't been there in over 20 years and what a great place to visit. We went to the tour on Sunday morning. Our original tickets were for 10:30 and as we were early they changed the tickets to the 10:00 am tour, which was a good thing as there were fewer people. We saw the 747, the 777, and the 787. The information gained was very insightful and the many stages seen were great. When returned to the starting point, we were able to gain more information about the planes on the floor of the visitor centre. For the cost ($18 per person) we were glad we went. It is cheaper to purchase on line than in person. Ensure to leave cameras, cell phones and any other form of technology in the lockers or your vehicle. They aren't to be used on the tour due to security but you can use them when viewing the information at the information centre.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for coming all the way from Penticton, BC, to visit us. We are so happy you visited us and that you gained new insight into Boeing twin-aisle jets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“787 miles away from Flight”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

“Explore the dynamics of flight and experience new aviation innovations.” The website of the Future of Flight exhibit proudly proclaims itself to be the center of flight innovation and a great place to get hands-on with aviation as a visitor. What an overstatement it proved.
The center consists of an impressive façade, a huge reception hall, an exhibition hall with a handful of Boeing aircraft – though far from the gems you’ll find in the Smithsonian. It’s basically a reception area with a cinema, that efficiently processes visitors through their $18,- tours. Even the design-your-own aircraft attraction turned out to be a simple colouring plate.

But of course, all visitors know that they do not visit the Boeing center for the collection of displayed aircraft – they visit to see the planes being built. This is probably the most interesting part of the tour. Basically you get to see the 777, 787 and 747 assembly lines in the record-breaking Everett facility. Without going into detail about the tour itself, heed the following warning before visiting: although the flight line of brand-new aircraft, the ingenious assembly lines and Everett facility itself are awe-inspiring, the Boeing tour is overpriced and overrated.
The Future of Flight tour is corporate, extremely quick paced and very shallow when it concerns aviation. Do not ask questions about aerodynamics or 787 issues, or the answers will be either uniformed or dismissive. In general, however friendly your guide may be, the lack of general aviation knowledge and corporate loyalty is bothersome. Your time to view the actual production lines is limited to a couple of minutes, of which most is filled with “If it is not boeing –I’m not going” type jokes.

In all, avoid this money drenching highway stop. It’s more impressive and immersive to view the NatGeo documentary. Or get a real corporate tour. So save that twenty; get yourself a sandwich and view the area from the parking lot while having a picknick. And by the way, “Just 25 miles north of Seattle”, the place is virtually inaccessible for visitors without personal transport.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your candid review from August 2013. It sounds like you are a true aviation buff and already know a lot about airplanes. We know you do not live nearby but maybe you can consider attending one of our Aviation Geek Fests, which are held in mid-February each year. This would give you a true insider's look at aviation. You can Google Aviation Geekfest for more details or, on Twitter you can search for hashtag AGF13.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A must for travelers and those who appreciate precision manufacturing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to visit this place over the weekend with one of my friend and enjoyed the tour. You can book over internet in advance that ensures your admission and it is $2 cheaper ($16 per person). They take you to the Boeing factory and shows the assembly line of 777, 747, 787 Dreamliner along with a video show. This is a guided tour and need to walk a bit in the factory tunnel. Enjoyed every bit of it and very informative. Agree with another reviewer mentioning that museum is keeping some of the old aircraft parts or engines. However overall experience was good. This is a 90 minute tour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the tour. Thanks for coming all the way from Kolkata. It is always great to know that our friends from around the world find this experience worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boeing Tour and Future of Flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

An amazing experience. You won't believe the facts and figures the tours guides are fantastic. It really gives a perspective on the magnitude of the aviation industry.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for visiting from Victoria BC. We love our Canadian neighbors and are happy you enjoyed learning more about how The Boeing Company builds airplanes. Come back and visit us again because there is always something new happening in the factory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour also viewed

 

Been to The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Future of Flight Aviation Center & BoeingTour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.