We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Bug Spray!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN College Way Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN College Way Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 West College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bring Bug Spray!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My room was loaded with what i believe to have been fleas. They were crawling down the wall beside the bed and on the night table. I also found some in the bathroom. When i reported the problem, i was told that no one had ever complained about bugs the 11 years that employee had worked there. "Mike"also told me that animals are sprayed upon check in. I have never heard of such a thing and i didn't appreciate not being believed. He should have come to see for himself. He did offer to let me move to the second floor but there was no elevator and i had requested the ground floor due to a temporary mobility problem and i could not do the stairs. The following day, i was not even asked how my stay was. If this had not occurred, i would have rated this hotel a lot higher as the price was very good and there was nothing else wrong with the room itself. Breakfast was very good as well. As a diamond member, i expected better treatment than i received.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Cathy 162,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had a problem with bugs in your room and that our front desk clerk led you to think he didn’t believe you. He was just surprised at the report and wanted to reassure you that it was definitely not the norm. (An upstairs room was offered because it was a non-pet room.) We are very careful to set off bug “foggers” & wash all bedding/etc. when people with reported pets check-out and when we notice evidence of unreported pets in rooms. We also watch out for food that has been left out and do our best to thoroughly clean to avoid attracting other bugs. Unfortunately, whatever the cause (i.e. unnoticed unreported pet in room before your arrival), we are sincerely sorry for your experience.

In regards to expecting better treatment, we do our best to do what we can for all of our guests. In the case above, your reservation was originally for a room with 1 queen bed. Since your reservation noted the need for a ground floor room due to mobility issues, we gave a free upgrade to a king bed room so you could be close to the office.

We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are n the area.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    76
    59
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
87
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Easy check in, prepared for my arrival. It was very late and the Front Desk had everything ready. This was very nice because I was tired and was out in less than 10 minutes. Hotel is convienent location right off the freeway. My travel companion forgot something in the room and the front desk had it when we stopped by on our way back home. No wasted time, and very courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are happy to hear that we succeeded in making your check-in experience (and other dealings with our staff) positive ones. This is our goal for all guests. In regards to the forgotten items, we do our best to check all rooms to locate them and attempt to contact guests (when possible) before they get too far down the road.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the BW College Way Inn in Mount Vernon, WA. The price could not be beat and I was satisfied with the quality of the room. The hotel is older, but it's VERY clean. It was close to the 5, which made it convenient to getting to my destinations. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Old hotel but that seemed to be a good thing as the walls are properly constructed so you can't hear your neighbour. Bathroom sink area is very tiny. Nice sliding glass doors open up to pool and hot tub area. Close to a lot of restaurants and across from Rona, short drive to Safeway. Parking is just a few feet from the front doors on the first floor. We thought the diesel truck in front of our place was coming through our door at 4 a.m., then car alarm at 5 a.m.

Room Tip: stay on the backside, probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalispell, montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love this motel. Clean, convenient and on the waterfront. Close to the pier and kiosk with local information, past and present. Nice footpath runs along the waterfront and motel. My first stay here, but will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is very close to the freeway off ramp, but heard no freeway noise. Near shopping centers and grocery stores. We were next to the pool that was very popular, but did not get any pool noise (perhaps as the air con fan was always on). Refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker are very convenient for left overs, etc. The bathroom was next to the outside walkway so were unable to open the bath window. Were permitted an hour-later checkout. The hot and cold breakfast buffet was more than sufficient-it was a treat to make your own waffle.The staff was friendly and helpful especially at the dining/lobby area.

Room Tip: No elevator (two-story building) so request ground floor if you have much luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

outside walk way motel, o.k. for quick stop over on the way home, not up to normal B.W. hotels. We don't care for the 1-cup coffee makers. Adequate breakfast for on the road, cereal, toast, coffee. If you like other than strawberry or grape jam, take it with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN College Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN College Way Inn

Address: 300 West College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN College Way Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN College Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western College Way Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western
Best Western Mount Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.