We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, OK Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Market Street, Mount Vernon, WA 98273 (Formerly Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Washington State
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, OK Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This hotel was very comfortable. Great location. Rooms are huge and beds are comfy. Breakfast is very good. They do have an outdoor pool, but it was not open when we were there. Staff was just ok. Overall, we will return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    100
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
76
87
17
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed here for one night at the end of July. We chose Mt. Vernon because it was part way between Heather Meadows in Mt. Baker National Forest and Seattle. We had to drop some of our party off for a morning flight. We had a first floor room and moved into another room because the first smelled like it had been smoked in. The second room smelled the same as the first, and since it wasn’t an over-powering smell, we decided all the rooms must be like that and it wasn’t a big deal so we didn’t complain anymore.

The double-queen room was larger than most double-queen rooms. There was a counter with a sink running the full length of one of the walls and a lot of walking space. The pool was across a small parking lot from the main building, and the pool area did not have a hot-tub. The wifi worked well and the continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teguzco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We paid a bit extra to stay at this Best Western, rather than another in Mount Vernon. I can't say that it was worth the additional cost. The bathroom sink in the first room we were given hadn't been cleaned, leading us to question the job done on the rest of the room. Although the desk immediately assigned another room, it was not a good way to start. Our ultimate room was acceptable but nothing out of the ordinary. We got a good night's sleep in comfortable beds. The advertised "full breakfast" is mediocre at best: cool scrambled eggs in large serving pans, next to heaping pans of warm-at-best bacon and a waffle maker. It's fuel for the day, but nothing more. We did not use the nearby fitness center, for which hotel guests receive free passes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed here for one night Aug 15/09. We had never stayed in this location so we didn`t know what to expect. We were greeted by name as soon as we walked through the door. CHeck in was fast. We were at the end of the hall room 106 but it was a huge room nicely laid out. 2 queen beds with newer duvets,fridge and large counter area. We were travelling with our dog and encountered no problems. We didn`t use the pool as we arrived so late so I can`t comment on that. The breakfast was above par compared to other breakfasts. They had the traditional waffle maker that all hotels seem to have but they had strawberry glaze and a whipped topping instead of just syrup,scrambled eggs,bacon,yogurt and fruit cups,several cereals and several different kinds of oatmeal.

I would not hesitate in staying here again and do reccomend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Rooms are large and clean. Customer service is good. Maid service was wonderful. We stayed at the Quailty inn at Mount Vernon weeks before they were horrible! This hotel was a very nice change!! There are fridges & microwaves in each room . Very comfortable! Would stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

The hotel is pretty nice and the staff were nice enough. It is NOT within easy walking distance of restaurants, but it's a very short drive to a few, and to Wal-Mart. It's a non-smoking facility, which is great! Clean rooms! Breakfast included.

  • Liked — Non-smoking, clean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Wash.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I stayed for just one night while visiting someone in the area. Front desk staff was friendly and gave me a cookie warm out of the oven. The room could've been more quiet - was just behind the lobby and near housekeeping closet, so noise started fairly early in the morning. But on the up side the room was huge! It was a king but also had a couch, desk, microwave/mini fridge, extra sink, and a roomy closet nook with extra luggage rack. The bathroom was clean, although the toilet was sluggish in flushing and the shower drain (I finally discovered) had to be unplugged by hand. Mindful of an earlier reviewer's having had his car stolen from the lot, I parked as close to the lobby entrance as possible but I could see there were some fairly isolated parking spots, and no "eyes on the street" nearby. You can hear the freeway and nearby arterial traffic but it quieted down considerably at night. Breakfast was great and plentiful - a full breakfast with premade food available to microwave, and a crock pot full of sausage gravy with biscuits. Bagels, English muffins, pastries, yogurt, waffles...you name it. And remarkably good coffee! I also noticed a collocated conference center, aeroporter shuttle stop, restaurant, and someone told me the nearby health club is open to guests though I didn't use it. Given the favorable exchange rate it seemed like most of the other guests were Canadian shoppers - hotel is about 25 mi. N of new premium outlets at the Tulalip Casino. I expect to visit my college student again and found no reason to look for another place the next time.

  • Liked — Proximity to where I needed to be
  • Disliked — Not obvious how to get there, a little off the beaten path
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn

Address: 2300 Market Street, Mount Vernon, WA 98273 (Formerly Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cottontree Hotel Mount Vernon
Best Western Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.