We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desserts Look Delicious!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe & Bakery

Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe & Bakery
121 Freeway Dr Ste B, Mount Vernon, WA 98273
1(360) 336-3107
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a "made from scratch" cafe & bakery celebrating over 30 years in business.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Desserts Look Delicious!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ladies lunch date...we were seated upstairs at a large table where it was nice for a visit (not too noisy and spacious). Oriental chicken salad was served with a huge wedge of tasty bread. The chicken was on the dry side and the dressing was non-descript. The salad was over-priced at $12. No one raved about their meal. On the other hand, desserts looked delicious. We didn't try any though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    16
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious food, interesting service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Husband started with clam chowder (I had a taste and it was wonderful), both had sandwiches which were very filling and really good. So filling though that we didn't have room for dessert which is a shame because the pies looked awesome. Service is odd - our server was really nice but it was like she'd just drifted in to help out. The couple at the next table were wondering aloud if they were ever going to get their meal (they order before us and got their drinks food way after ours appeared). With the ambient noise it is good for children - particularly if your child is a little on the noisy side (mine certainly is).
If you're not in a hurry or starving and want good food I would recommend stopping here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, If You're Not In A Hurry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've eaten at the Calico Cupboard twice now, both times really enjoying my meal. They have a lot of great choices on the menu, including many gluten free items. I had the turkey sandwich, which comes with three slices of bread, roasted turkey, cranberry sauce, havarti and cream cheese, onions and dijon mustard.
The service is a little slow, but not so much that it would stop me from coming back. Be sure to check out their bakery, the pies and cinnamon rolls looked delicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Usually great, not so much today”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We eat here several times a year when our trips take us to the Mt Vernon area. Actually we specifically stop just to eat here. Nice ambiance with a store attached that is a must to peruse. Very cute decor. Our breakfast today was so disappointing. Service was great, but must be a new cook. No one in our party of four was satisfied with the food. Didn't send it back since it would have been all four of us doing it. Hoping the owner takes notice because the quality of the hash, pancakes, undercooked sausages and biscuits and gravy was a real bummer

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ate here in December 2012. Food is great, prices are reasonable. You can even buy some of their jam & bread (which we did, for my wife's mom...she loved it!)
It's a couple blocks from the Amtrak station, so if you have time before your train departs (or after your train arrives), and it's between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m., stop on by, even if it's just to get a coffee or Lattè to go - you won't regret it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Cupboard Old Town Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.