We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon to your Saves list
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Freeway Drive, Mount Vernon, WA 98273   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice for the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Older motel but well maintained. The front desk personnel were very pleasant and well informed about the nearby activities. Nothing was new but owners have done everything possible with the age of the facility to provide you with a nice, clean place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    23
    7
    16
See reviews for
21
31
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had a horrible experience at this motel! In the middle of the night a man was pounding on the door. When he finally went away, I looked out the window and he was in the parking lot staring up into our room window and shaking his fists! I called the desk, no answer so had to call the police. The next day at check out, the clerk said the only way to access the night clerk was to go to the office and ring the outside bell. I was not about to leave the room with that man in the parking lot. I did not feel safe at this motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipinn, Manager at Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear YummyJam:

We are very very sorry you and your family were woken up by this man. We are not sure why a man would be pounding on the door in the middle of the night, and have to assume he was not a guest at our establishment. We take our guests concerns and comments very seriously, and have made changes to ensure this does not happen again. Again we would like to apologize to you and your family for this experience.

Doug Whitcher
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

A reasonable location (close to supermarkets, fast food places and not much else except for the highway) but perfect for us. Breakfast was a bit basic which was fine but you had to take it back to your room or eat outside as nowhere to eat it. Rooms were more than adequate.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I spent the weekend at this hotel this past week. I have to say I got a great rate and the location couldn't be better. The furnishings in the room are more than adequate. The towels weren't the best and the maid service left a little to be desired. For the money and for my expectations I felt this property represented a great value. My suggestion and only complaint had to do with the noise level transmitted from people running along the outside hall or going up and down the stairs. If I were to recommend a suggestion I'd book either a ground floor or an end room away from the main staircase. Since there seemed to be a lot of school groups staying here there was a lot of running around and the noise transmits easily to the 2nd floor especially since I was across from the stairs. Other than that I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Wa.
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed one night, on our way home, after taking the North Cascades Scenic drive, coming from the east.
We had a bit of trouble finding this place. There is a Walmart across the street, and restaurants in the area.
The room was nice, clean and comfy, 2 Q with a kitchenette. The free wifi was good. Continental breakfast was very sparse, with only coffee, juice, rolls, and fruit, (I think), that you picked up in the small office.
The evening clerk was nice and helpful. The morning couple seemed not too friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I loved the Tulip Inn when we got there, the staff were very friendly when we checked in. Prices were pretty reasonable, and they didn't require a credit card to hold on file, which we appreciated.

The rooms were very nice, looked as though they'd been recently remodeled, and they had done a good jobs doing so. They were also clean, the beds were unbelievably comfortable (more comfortable than my own bed at home!), and the pillows were nice and fluffy.

I did notice one of the blankets on one of the beds had a huge rip at the seam. Which was no big deal to us, and we didn't end up using the blanket anyways but had removed it from the bed, as the blankets are white and I didn't want our kids getting them dirty.

They had cable, with a great selection of channels, also very much appreciated!

As we were cleaning up and getting ready for check out the next morning, we noticed there was a random shoe under the bed that someone who'd stayed before must have forgotten, so we set it in the window sill so the cleaning service would know.

Well something came up later that day and we ended up needing to stay another night. Again the staff was very friendly and even gave us a discount! They also gave us the same room..

We again took the blankets off the bed so they wouldn't get dirty, and noticed that the exact same bed had the exact same rip in the blanket, but we didn't think too hard on it and just figured it was a coincidence.

We got a very good night's sleep and the next morning as we were again getting ready for check out and cleaning up our things, we found that same forgotten shoe shoved back under the bed.

It doesn't seem like a big deal, but it does make you wonder how well they clean the rooms if they didn't seem to change the blankets and couldn't remove a random shoe from the room.

I plan to call the owners of the hotel and inform them of our findings. However, I do want to say that I would stay at this hotel again. I liked it very much, and will feel much better once I let them know about the blanket and the shoe, and we do plan to stay there again when we make our next trip to Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was the second year I stayed at the Tulip Inn while attending the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival. It is very easy access off of I-5. From the inn you can take a side road into downtown or out into the tulip fields without having to go back on the freeway, avoiding a lot of the traffic. It is near a number of shopping areas with banks, restaurants, gas stations, shopping, etc., but far enough away to be quiet. It offers a continental breakfast. Our room had two queen beds, WiFi, a mini-refrigerator, microwave, and air conditioning, as well as cable TV. The decor is very pleasant, and the beds were comfortable. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. The prices are excellent for the amenities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon

Address: 2200 Freeway Drive, Mount Vernon, WA 98273
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulip Inn is centrally located in the heart of the Skagit Valley. All of our deluxe guest rooms feature free in room coffee, free wireless high speed internet, voice mail, free local calls, continental breakfast, air conditioning, queen or king size beds with pillowtop mattresses, irons and full size ironing boards, and AM/FM Alarm clocks. AAA Approved with two diamonds and located close to shopping, restaurants and the Outlet Mall. Kitchenettes and Physically Challenged rooms also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.