We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From stress to peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Armstrong House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Armstrong House
Save Saved
You added The Armstrong House to your Saves list
12757 Chilberg Road, Mount Vernon, WA 98257 (Formerly Queen of the Valley Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Mount Vernon B&B and Inns
1 review
“From stress to peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010 via mobile

Shelly and chris Were very kind and helpfull. Breakfast was top notch and at any restaurant would of run us well over 30 dollars being family of three. They were very kind to our over active toddler who wanted to touch everything. The room was very nice and the robes were very cozy. Many DVDs , games, and books to make your stay more enjoyable. Agree that the pictures don't do it justice. Loved that the house wasn't overly Victorian. Good recomendation for all ages. The breakfast nook was also very cozy. Love la Conner and I'll stAy there again. Was a great one night get away from the busy Seattle life. Thankyou

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Ratings are all relative, and we give the Queen a "very good" versus an "excellent" rating based on bed and breakfast stays at other places in North America. The Queen of the Valley has a nice ambiance based on its early history. Chris and Shelley are indeed a welcoming couple.
The bed we had was excellent. The breakfast was good and consisted of cottage cheese pancakes served with whipped cream, strawberries and bacon. Relative to breakfasts at other bed and breakfast's, we find some the Tripavisor reviewers' ratings as "food to die for" a bit overstated.
Our one disappointment was the lack of warm water to take a shower during the early evening (probaby the jacuzzi suite took all the hot water).
We loved La Conner and highly recommend a visit to this unique town. The Queen of the Valley is an acceptable choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaConnerLocal, owner at The Armstrong House, responded to this review, April 25, 2010
We have recently installed a new, commercial-grade, state-of-the-art, on-demand hot water system. Our guests will never again lack hot water. Guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Spent two nights at this very charming & peaceful inn. We stayed in the Hong Kong room which has a king size bed with an eastern exposure. Seeing the sun come up over the mountains from the bed is a nice way to start the day. The bathroom is very large & there is also a walk through closet connecting the two rooms. The breakfasts were delicious both days. The innkeepers Chris & Shelley were both very friendly and made us feel very welcome. You do not need to bring any reading material because you will find books & magazines available in the room. I would certainly stay here again on future trips to the Skagit Valley.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I was in the area for business and stayed at the Queen for three nights. The hosts bent over backwards to make my stay as comfortable as possible! The room was perfect, the bed was amazing, and though I missed having a tv, my private wrap-around porch more than made up for it. But the hands-down best part: BREAKFAST! Shelley is a fantastic cook, and served up the most amazing breakfasts. I even had to get to work really early one morning, and she took extra efforts to leave me a wonderful meal - three hours before the usual service!

Thank you for such a wonderful stay, I hope to be back soon!

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We had a wonderful time visiting Shelly and Chris at the "Queen." We were treated as if we were guests in their home, not paying customers! Every morning, Shelly prepared a delicious breakfast (I've never before tasted croissant french toast with pecans) and they gave us great advice about how to explore the surrounding area. It's perfect for couples - especially if you stay in the Africa Room where there is an in-room jacuzzi. I would highly recommend this place as a central location to visit the surrounding upstate Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We once again wanted to get away for just a quick overnight and decided to stay at the Queen again. Our last experience was so wonderful...why not.
As expected, Shelly and Chris did it again. So much so that we could hardly make ourselves leave for home. They we perfect hosts, served some very good wine with appetizers and again nice bubbly in the morning with our over the top breakfast.
We will go back!!

  • Liked — tranquile setting but many things to do in the town Mount Vernon which is very close by.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I've traveled all over the world, and stayed at top properties everywhere (Danielli in Venice, Hassler in Rome, The Oriental in Bankgok etc.) but my experience with B&B's is limited to a short stay on a sheep farm in the Cotswalds. However, I take an annual class at La Conner Art Workshops and the house I normally rent is just too big for me, so I decided to give the Queen a try for five nights in July. Shelly, the innkeeper, is a delight and her breakfasts are fabulous. She buys everything from nearby farms, so it is all fresh, organic and seasonal. Fresh berries, peaches, and to die for waffles. I stayed in the spacious Hong Kong room, with a nice view of nearby farms, fields and sunrises. HUGE private bathroom with a comfy big old tub made my end of the day painting aches and pains float away. Decor is ecletic with great antiques and touches of gold throughout. Wonderful fireplace; can only imagine it in the winter. Photos don't do this place justice; it's a 1908 charmer which is located a short walk to LaConner's hot spots including a nice casual restaurant Seeds, one of my favs.

  • Liked — This is a tough one. A tie between bathtub, breakfast and bed!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Armstrong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armstrong House

Address: 12757 Chilberg Road, Mount Vernon, WA 98257 (Formerly Queen of the Valley Inn)
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armstrong House, formerly The Queen of the Valley Inn, is located 1/2 mile from LaConner, out in the country. Quiet, relaxing surroundings, gorgeous views, perfect base for exploring the Skagit Valley. Farm house was built in 1908 and features a craftsman interior in Victorian style. Each room features bath/shower, toilet, sink, refrigerator. Delicious breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Armstrong House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.