We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for fishing, boating, camping and bird watching” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Potholes State Park

Potholes State Park
Hwy 262 (O'Sullivan Dam Road), 17 MI North of Moses Lake, Moses Lake, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Moses Lake
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state park is popular for birdwatching, swimming and camping.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great for fishing, boating, camping and bird watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Nice get-away in the Eastern shrub steppe. There is a nice day use area, but not really a good place to swim. It is too shallow and muddy. The boat launches are long and steep. Judging from the fish cleaning station use and the fishermen chatter, the fishing is good - bass, perch, crappie and walleye. We kayaked and it is a fairly interesting paddle. Lots of great birds in the area - pelicans, great white egrets, great blue herons, coots, grebes, various ducks, sand-hill cranes (migrating - in nearby corn fields). We also saw deer and heard coyotes and owls at night. Nice camping but a bit spendy - full hook-ups and manicured lawns for the RV set and a separate "primitive" area for the tenters. (We have a tear drop and do not use hook ups so we went there.) There are also some little cabins for rent that have electricity, beds, heat and air conditioning (no running water). Very nice in spring and fall. I think it would be hot and busy here in the summer. Services available right outside the park...gas, groceries, dining. A little hiking available. I think next time we will stay at the campground but take our kayak to the nearby seep lakes. They look interesting and have places to launch.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with full hookup sites on a nice lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Plenty of space for our 5th wheel and truck (~40 feet together) and really nicely cared for state park. The boat launch area was wide and very easy to launch from and not too far a walk from the camp sites. The lake was very refreshing and the trails were perfect for a desert walk.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for boating and birdwatching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for four nights on a camping trip in the primitive campground. The toilets were clean for vault toilets, and there was plenty of water. Most of the sites were nice with tables and fire-pits, albeit a little too close together. Our only complaint about our site was that it had ZERO shade during the day, and it was very hot and bad for our dogs. Overall potholes is better if you're going there to boat or fish, but it can be a fun camping trip for a few nights! Try to get a site further away from the river that leads into the reservoir, as the ones away from the river have shade. And make sure to check out the hiking trails, they're awesome! We saw deer about 10ft away as well as lizards and road runners, and heard a few coyote howls at night. Bring a snake bite kit as this is rattlesnake country!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“basic campground, best if you are boating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed there at the end of May and were hoping to have a nice start into the camping season. The park is nicely laid out and has a huge green space for picnicking and playing close to the beach. The water level was low tough and the beach was more like a muddy mess to get in. We decided to skip the swimming. I guess having a boat makes it better, you go out on the lake and swim there.

The campground is very basic for tenters, the first loop has only pit toilets and the other one has none and you have to walk to the day use area. This is where most of the people of both loops went anyway, which made the bathroom overcrowded and the lines were long out the door just to use the restroom and even worse if you have 2 sinks for 100+ people camping there for the weekend plus you have all the people from the day use area. Really not OK.

The sites were nice and big, but had no privacy at all. The mosquito's were horrible and ate you alive and it is only the start of the season. I am not sure how bad it gets in the summer months? There were also ants everywhere, I was worried we are taking them home and have an infestation in our garage where we store our gear.

Sure the sites were cheaper than some other state park sites, but considering the bathhouse situation and the mosquito and ants... I don't think I would choose this place again in the future for camping. I guess it's better to go there for day use and boating.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Birds and teritorial views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have a treasure in our back yard. I live only 15 miles from this location and find it rewarding and soothing every time I visit. I mostly enjoy the bird population that is migratory and constant. Hawks and eagles are a favorite and offer many views of their antics. During hunting season the population of ducks and geese have to find a way to avoid the hunters. So I usually do not visit in the fall.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potholes State Park also viewed

 

Been to Potholes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potholes State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.