We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Run Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marblemount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Run Inn
Save
You added Buffalo Run Inn to your Saves list
60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this location in early October. We were the only people staying at the hotel that night. The price, however, did not reflect the low season and I felt we overpaid significantly. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and the internet worked fine. Breakfast was adequate but we were left to work out how to operate the toaster and the water heating apparatus.

Room Tip: Only stay there in season otherwise this place is remote to the extreme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank You for the 4 STAR review! I have never been to Israel, so I don't know what the rooms cost, however a 3 star Holiday Inn in the United States costs at least $100.00, so I can't see how $89.00 for a 4 star inn with a complimentary breakfast and free Wi-Fi is expensive! I'm sorry you had problems operating the toaster, as usually you just drop the bread into it and push the lever down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    73
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
90
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Buffalo Run Inn. The room was very spacious and clean for out family of 5. If it has not been recently renovated, it is very well kept. There are not many options in Marblemount, so I was pleasantly surprised that it was so nice. You can't beat the location for access to the North Cascades. The only negative about the stay was that the complimentary breakfast was not up to the standards of the rest of the stay. The selection was very limited, and not the best quality. I realize that it is complimentary, but I think it is below the standard of many other complimentary breakfasts that I have had. Overall, I would recommend this place, and we will stay here again if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank You for the great four STAR review! I realize the breakfast is not the same as the chain hotels give you, however we are trying to balance the price of the rooms with all the other factors involved! If we hire a person to tend the breakfast and improve the selection, then we are going to have to compensate by raising our prices, and we don't want to raise the prices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We left booking up somewhat late and the only rooms available were with a shared Shower/toilet. That said we found our room very comfortable, clean and quiet. The next morning with 2 showers there wasn't any queuing problem. Both the evening meal and the breakfast at the restaurant were fine, the food was good, the menu varied and the service efficient and friendly. The only downside was not for us but the guy in the next room. As we were leaving, he asked us if we had towels in our room 'cos for some reason he said he didn't have any. As we had a towel that hadn't been used, we gave it to him. That apart we had a good stay at the Buffalo Run Inn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank You very much for the nice 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved our room. If you are picky, this is the place to stay. The rooms were spotless, beautiful furnishings, and anything you need is right at your fingertips. We loved eating at the restaurant. The food was great and the service was the best. We can't wait to come back. Thanks for the great hospitality.

Room Tip: look at their website, they have pictures of all the rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank You for the heavenly 5 STAR review! The next time you visit us, I will have a bottle of Champagne for you! It's nice to get an honest review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location for base camp if you don't feel like camping while exploring the North Cascade National Park. The hotel is basic but clean. They have free breakfast but I did not try it. The bathroom was very clean, always a good thing. No flat screen TV, just an old school tiny TV. But you're not there to watch TV. There are a few restaurants nearby plus a gas station and a cafe. My only complain would be the housekeeping. They did not dump out the trash nor did they give me a new coffee for the next morning. They also did not clean the coffee pot. What is going on??? I would not mind staying there again, it is a beautiful area!

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I'm confused! They didn't give you more coffee the next day and didn't empty the trash? Did you have the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the door? It seems to me that you were trying very hard to find fault in all your rambling! We are anything, but a basic hotel. If you want flat screen TV's, go to the Hilton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights. It is a good location to visit North Cascades, National Park.
We had a large room, with kitchenette. This kitchenette was helpful to take our own breakfast, because the included breakfast of the Inn was very poor and not an example of hospitality. This is in a big contrast with the Buffalo Run restaurant, from the same owner. The dinners were very good there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You for the 3 Star review, however you seem to be missing a very important point! The breakfast is complimentary, which means you get it for free and do not pay for it!!! I guess we would have had 4 Stars if we gave you steak and eggs and served you in bed???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at each end of a 12 day backpack in the NCNP. Marshall understands what hospitality is all about. Marshall was able to help us find a shuttle driver so we could spot a car at the end of the Cascade Road and then the next day drive us to our starting point at Diablo Lake. Marshall was also able to help us with some of our other request that made for a enjoyable vacation in this part of Washington State. The rooms are clean, spacious and has a good Wi-Fi. Having a free style breakfast suited our need for early starts and offered a good variety.

Room Tip: choose a back room to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You for the very nice 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Run Inn

Address: 60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267
Location: United States > Washington > Marblemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1889 roadhouse was a gathering place for all the gold miners, lumberjacks and mountain men traveling up the Skagit River. Many a jug of moonshine has passed through the doors of the inn! It is located at the entrance to the North Cascades National Park and was totaly remodeled in 2005! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Run Hotel Marblemount
Hotel Buffalo Run

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Run Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.