We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Run Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marblemount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Run Inn
Save
You added Buffalo Run Inn to your Saves list
60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Paris, France
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are hiking in the cascades and decided to stay here for two nights as it is very nicely located. The rooms are just fine, we are in the back off the street with a small area to sit to watch the setting sun. The bed is GREAT. The room very clean and the owners very helpful.
But you especially need to eat at their restaurant. We had dinner last night and thought it was kind of pricey (23$ for a steak dinner) but when the meal came we were blown away - fresh asparagus, zucchini, broccoli, the steak was fabulous. You definitely get value for your money. And there was a very decent Merlot to go with it. This is the place to eat in the Marblemount area !

Room Tip: Choose a room off the road. It's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
THANK YOU for the fabulous FIVE STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    73
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
90
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife works for a major full-service hotel chain, and that is the kind of place in which she is used to staying when she travels. Stepping outside of that box when we are in a more remote location usually results in some grumbling from her at the least. She came to the Buffalo Run Inn with low expectations, and she was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room. We were both quite happy with our experience, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank You for the great 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are planning a bicycle trip which routes over the North Cascades Highway (a challenging ride with fantastic alpine scenery) an over-night in Marblemount, WA is necessary. There are other choices but we stay at the Buffalo Run Inn, plus have dinner and drinks at the Buffalo Run Restaurant.
Though Marshall, the owner, reigns over the pair, reservations are made online a buffaloruninn.com. It is a well planned reservation site - easy to use, shows exactly what rooms are available, with a detailed description of each in the various price points. He has very nice, cosy rooms with great beds and private bath, and the less expensive hostel type rooms are #11-15 (we have stayed in one which was quaint and clean with a shared tv common area & shared bath), we think all very reasonably priced. With sunny weather the place gets fully booked so plan ahead (especially If cycling!)
The licensed restaurant offers exotic/game burgers and steaks plus a pretty good variety for lesser carnivores, and you can dine inside or outside in the garden patio out back. The restaurant can get very busy on sunny weekends too, but is not opened for breakfast. The Inn offers the basics (cereal, toast, muffins coffee etc) or there are a couple of diners close by. We have always found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Use the online booking site. It accurately lists what rooms/price points are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
THANK YOU for the wonderful 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We were touring cyclists pedaling through. Because of the mileage and the mountain passes we were forced to stay one night here. While the room was clean, they were very overpriced and the service was terrible. The "complimentary breakfast" was a joke. The owners also made us lock our bikes out front, giving us no other place to put them out of the line of site from the road. (We're motel-ing our way across the country and this is the only place that has done that)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are not responsible for furnishing garages for cars, barns for horses, or sheds to place your bike in! You know the price of the room and you reserve the room, and then you complain about the price???? What am I missing here? You claim the free complimentary breakfast was a joke! Did you expect breakfast in bed??? Did you have a bad day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed for one night. The room was clean and the bathroom was recently remodeled. However the staff was not friendly at all. When you pull up to the restaurant there is a sign telling you to check in at the restaurant across the street. The waitress at the restaurant barked at us "do you have a reservation?" And they wouldn't let us use their phone. They made us use a pay phone behind the has station. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Did the waitress "Bark" at you or did she just ask, if you had a reservation! The phone line in the restaurant is attached to two credit card machines and is not for public use! I'm sorry we did not meet your exaggerated expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed twice now at the Buffalo Run Inn and eaten several times at the restaurant, which is conveniently located right across the street. Visiting during eagle-watching season was a real treat and we enjoyed our stay in the trout-themed room. The food at the restaurant is excellent and even my rather finicky husband has enjoyed his meal every time. The service is friendly, and even though there isn't cell reception, that's what a vacation is for - getting away from the stress and constant technological leashes of the city. We recommend the Inn highly to our friends and plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask about the various themed rooms. They have different wildlife themes but also European-themed roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You for the Great 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled up Hwy 20 for a weekend and visited some of the very beautiful sights along the Hwy. We watched the Bald Eagles feed on fish along the Skagit River, drove up to Diablo Lake and Thunder Arm, walked down along the Cascade River, and stopped to lodge at the Buffalo Run Inn. The room was very clean and had a great log cabin appearance. It made me feel like I was staying at a fancy hunting lodge. It is right in the town of Marblemount so it is a great place to stop for the night, fuel up your car, and grab some food before you continue on your journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You for the Great 5 STAR review! Please stop by and say Hi as you pass through town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Run Inn

Address: 60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267
Location: United States > Washington > Marblemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1889 roadhouse was a gathering place for all the gold miners, lumberjacks and mountain men traveling up the Skagit River. Many a jug of moonshine has passed through the doors of the inn! It is located at the entrance to the North Cascades National Park and was totaly remodeled in 2005! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Run Hotel Marblemount
Hotel Buffalo Run

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Run Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.