We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one-night sleep near N Cascades hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Run Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marblemount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Run Inn
Save
You added Buffalo Run Inn to your Saves list
60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant one-night sleep near N Cascades hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in Room 13 for one night between two days of hiking on a weeknight after Labor Day. This is one of the less-expensive second-floor rooms with shared bath. The room was small but pleasant and clean, with two comfortable beds and a reading light for each. The shared bath was also very clean, with modern plumbing. We did not use the big TV or the microwave or fridge in the common area, but we did use and appreciate the free wifi, which was fine for checking email and a couple of web pages. Maybe we were just lucky (since none of our neighbors was noisy, and no one was watching TV), but our night there was very quiet, without even any vehicle noise from the road below our windows. For what we wanted that night, which was a simple, good night's sleep, this met our needs very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank You for the 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    72
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
90
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We loved the very clean and cute rooms at the Buffalo Run Inn. Each of the rustic lodge rooms is themed. Ours was the buffalo and our friends was the bear - all room decorations reflected these themes. The inn was quiet and provided a self-serve continental breakfast. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank You for the 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We snatched the last available room on the second floor which was one of the smallest rooms there. The interior of the building seemed like it was all recently remodeled and the room and shared bathrooms were extremely clean, which I did not expect from the pictures on the website. Internet was free and very slow, but it was still useable and provided us a connection to the world outside despite not having cellphone reception. We were grateful to be able to take a hot shower and sleep on a comfortable bed at the gate of the national park at an affordable price after hiking and camping for two days.

One caution to light sleepers though, the wall are thin. It didn't affect us since we were too tired from our hiking! Overall, I would stay here again to visit the national park. In response to some people who think this national park is boring, it is really NOT a drive-and-see kind of park, you need to hike into the wilderness in order to appreciate its beauty!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank You for the nice 4 Star review! Our walls are insulated with sheet foam, but no matter what insulation you use, sound is still going to enter through the windows and doors! Even when I stay at 5 Star hotels, I can hear all the noises!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Inn has multiple rooms accessed from one door kind of like going into an older apartment building. We stayed in room 7 and I will say it was nice, especially from what I was expecting. However, upon check-in we were received as if we were hassling the clerk. You check in across the street at the restaurant. We arrived at 1pm and knew we were about to embark on several hikes in nearby North Cascades Nat'l Park that would put us back at the Inn after 9pm beyond the check-in time. When I explained this to the clerk/owner (I'm not sure who she was) she got huffy and said check-in isn't until 3pm. I re-explained we wouldn't be back before 9, it was okay if the room wasn't ready, we weren't going in or even dropping off luggage we were just trying to accomodate the 9pm latest check-in. Finally, we got a key. We might have eaten lunch there but after the reception I wasn't going to give the owner any more money than a night's lodging.

All the rooms were different, #7 was nice. I would have chosen prints of the area since it is beautiful but it was decorated in scenes of Venice. Shower was good, bedding good, and clean. HOWEVER, it is noisy! You can hear the street, the other rooms, the creak of the stairs, groaning pipes, you name it. Breakfast is a kitchen where you pull what you want to eat from a communal fridge, then toast, microwave, etc. If you don't mind being treated rudely or the noise then the place is great.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed room 7 is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
You were going into an older apartment building as the inn was built in 1889! The building is very well insulated and the stairs probable do creak! I stay in five star hotels in Seattle and I can even hear the elevators! What do you expect? Most of the customers are not bothered by a little traffic and usually the highway is dead after ten o'clock! Sorry about the confusion at check-in, but we have our policies to operate by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

There walls are extremely thin and you can hear everything that goes on in the other rooms. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The town is close to nonexistent. When the sun goes down there is nothing but the tv. We reserved 2 nights to see the park but realized there wasn't too much to do in that park and wanted to leave early for Olympic National Park. We asked to cancel our 2nd night reservation with 30 hours notice. We were told that we had to give 48 hour notice but was told that since it was July ( the busy season) they would try to rent our room and give us a refund on the second night. Early the next morning we went east. Later that night I called and asked if there were any rooms and was told that all of the rooms were booked. I expected the man to honor his agreement and was surprised when I was charged for the second night. The room was overpriced anyway but he made a killing that night. It is sad that he had so little honesty and integrity. I would NEVER stay there again. A tent would be preferable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for the "JUST OK" review! I'm sorry I couldn't build a bigger town for you with night clubs and theaters! I'm sorry we didn't change our cancellation policy to accomodate your boredom! I'm sorry that the room was still booked when you called, because you didn't notify us that you left! I'm sorry that we are more expensive than the MOTEL 6 that you usually stay at! Your idea to buy a tent is a good idea, and then you can give GOD a bad review when it rains!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place undersells itself on the internet. The room seemed recently decorated. It was comfortable, light and airy and had everything you would want. From the description we thought it might have noisey people above but our room and most of the others were single storey. The associated restaurant was really good with excellent food and very good service. Although it is on the main road there is almost no traffic at night. Breaffalo Run Innkfast was included but this is a rather inefficient help yourself from the fridge and cupboards in the breakfast room. If you want to visit the NP or just passing through, stay here.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, I don't know what the other ground floor rooms were like I would guess they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Abig Thank You for the 5 STAR review! It is truly a pleasure dealing with customers who give fair and honest reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at the Buffalo Run Inn and we were not disappointed. The first time we had ensuite rooms, but this time we did not book early enough so had rooms on the upper floor with shared bathrooms. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable and great value for money. I can recommend it.

Room Tip: Book early and get an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
A BIG THANK YOU for the 5 STAR review! It is always a pleasure to answer reviews from customers who appreciate the quality of our Inn and don't go out of their way trying to find something to complain about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Run Inn

Address: 60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267
Location: United States > Washington > Marblemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1889 roadhouse was a gathering place for all the gold miners, lumberjacks and mountain men traveling up the Skagit River. Many a jug of moonshine has passed through the doors of the inn! It is located at the entrance to the North Cascades National Park and was totaly remodeled in 2005! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Run Hotel Marblemount
Hotel Buffalo Run

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Run Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.