We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good after a day of hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Run Restaurant

Buffalo Run Restaurant
60084 State Route 20, PO Box 133, Marblemount, WA 98267-9771
+1 360-873-2461
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: This is a family oriented, rustic cedar mountain restaurant. We feature exotic game meats (Buffalo, Venison, Elk and Ostrich) as well as Beef, Seafood, Pasta and Vegetarian dishes. Visit us and enjoy a cocktail, micro brew or a glass of fine wine on our beautiful garden patio!
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good after a day of hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had beer, salad and the trout. It was fresh, flavorful and presented well. It hit the spot after a day of hiking. The atmosphere matches the rugged area; it's what you would expect by a national park. The waitress was nice as well as efficient, not pushy at all. You get 10% off your meal if you are staying at the Buffalo Run inn across the street... a bonus for us as that was our hotel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank You for the very nice 4 STAR review! We are happy that you had a pleasant dining experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    22
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique menu choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant has many selections of game meats. We had the special 24 ounce buffalo steak for two. Some of it was tough but there was plenty of tasty meat. We downloaded a 10% off coupon from the website. Reasonably priced wine selections.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank You for the great FOUR STAR review! The buffalo Chuck steaks are a little chewy, but the flavor is exquisite and the price is right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Good and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good restaurant right across the street from the Buffalo Run Inn. Nice outdoor seating in a garden setting in the back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank You for the very nice 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location must keep this business alive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Went on the way home from vacation, hoping for a nice lunch. I ordered the kangaroo burger, which didn't taste like anything special. Potato salad was tasteless. Sisters ordered beef burger and were satisfied. Mom ordered the special and a side of onion rings, also satisfied. The location was beautiful, and I loved the hummingbirds. The waitress wasn't especially friendly, and it got worse when the bill came. We paid $50 for mediocre burgers and fries for 4 people! I wouldn't normally be upset, but it really was not worth it. On top of that, the waitress actually complained under her breath when we paid in cash instead of the card (and asked if we wanted change! So unprofessional!). Well, she won't have to worry about being paid in cash anymore, because we won't be paying here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
You paid $50.00 for lunch with drinks for four people and you are complaining!!! What did you expect the kangaroo burger to taste like? You call our burgers mediocre! Stick with the McDonalds or Burger King then you won't have to complain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“100% beef "Elk" burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We dined at the World famous Buffalo Run Inn restaurant today. I have had game meat before and the "Elk" burger I had today was an average beef burger. My wife's buffalo hotdog tasted a lot like the ones we purchase at Costco. Our query about the elk was answered by the lady who said it was imported New Zealand Elk and it was feed on grass and good fresh air. I'd say she was blowing smoke. As a diner I believe I was ripped off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
You were not ripped off! These are ranch raised elk burgers, purchased from a very reputable meat distributor. They do not have the wild taste of an elk you shoot in the woods as they do not eat pine needles, acorns, etc. The waitress is not blowing smoke as she does not order the meat, but just passes on to you, what ever she hears from us! If you try hard enough, I'm sure you will find fault where ever you eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Run Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Run Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.