We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sex on the Wallpaper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards

Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards
300 Ivan Morse Rd, Manson, WA 98831 (Formerly Balsamroot)
+1 509-687-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Manson
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Chelan wine country at its best! Try the delicious reds and crisp whites on the beautiful patio at Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards. A family-owned, boutique winery specializing in small-batch processing and creating premium wines. Producing just 3000 cases per year and focusing on quality rather than quantity. A place to relax, meet friends and experience exquisite wines in the quiet beauty of the vineyard and orchards. Try the dynamite cheese plate or bring your own picnic. Open daily. Call for seasonal hours.
Tacoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sex on the Wallpaper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Overall, this place was ok - a small tasting room (fee $5 - unless you buy a bottle), and a small winery. The staff person told a couple of good stories about the winery's origins. The wine menu was very small - and was almost all white wines. Most of the wine's names were sexually suggestive (I liked them, but beware if you are uptight about that sort of thing), and the wallpaper had a lot of suggestive images drawn into it as well - you've gotta look twice to see it.... (another thing that I liked, but again - beware.)

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So entertaining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We've been to a few tastings, but this one is just very entertaining. Don't go if you don't have a sense of humor. :-) Their wines are quite tasty - we purchased the Syrah ... But the menu calls it something else. ... :-0

By the way, when here- be sure to look at the wallpaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nauty but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As others have noted, the name of this winery has a fun and interesting history. The wall paper in the tasting room and restroom lives up to the story.

The real story however, should be the wines. My wife and I were fortunate to arrive during a quiet time when there was no one else in the tasting room and, as luck would have it Don(?), the winery's viticulturist, came in and we had a great discussion on their grapes. Over the years we have the chance to meet wine makers, but rarely the viticulturist.

Back to the wines. We sampled a number of their reds and were very impressed. Our favorites were the 2010 Petit Verdot, Burning Desire and their red blend, Seduction.

A great little winery and friendly folks.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great story!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited this winery today and had a great time. The story behind the name of the winery and the labels of the wines are very interesting. Take the time to get to this winery as you will be glad you did!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There was one guy there and my girlfriend and I went in to do a tasting. The man was very inappropriate. I get it is suppose to be a more "sensual" place, but we were so uncomfortable. We were trying to read the tasting notes and he took them away. He also make sexual remarks about me.
So awkward.

I will not be returning to this place. Yuck.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Row to Hoe Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.