We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heading downhill” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood to your Saves list
Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4117 196th Street SW, Lynnwood, WA 98036-6716   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Lynnwood
bellingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“heading downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Stayed at this location for a couple of nights in July. Like another reviewer who stayed in July, we found the state of our room to be pretty disgusting. There were stains all over the carpet and chairs, and an obviously broken lampshade. There was also a pungent and overwhelming smell of body odour in one part of the room -(the stains in the chairs? - who knows). Wood veneer was peeling off the bathroom doors. It was the kind of room that felt dirty enough that you didn't want to sit down or touch anything. Why don't stains on the carpets and chairs get treated and removed as part of regular housekeeping?

Light fixtures in the hallway were all hanging out by the wires, no shades. Hall carpet was stained. Overall the appearance is of a property in decline without proper cleaning and maintenance of the facility.

Yes - it is relatively quiet and convenient for restaurants however there are plenty of other hotel properties I have stayed at in the vicinity which are in the same price range which are cleaner and show signs of regular maintenance and attention to the property and rooms. Shame on you Comfort Inn for keeping this property in this state under your corporate name. Guests expect a basic standard of cleanliness and maintenance from a national chain - the Comfort Inn Lynnwood is failing to provide it.

  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and maintenance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    40
    21
    27
See reviews for
32
40
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Overall, this was one of the worst hotels that I have seen. The cleanliness, appearance of fixtures and other items were not up to Comfort Inn standards.

I pointed these items out to the front desk receptionist and discussed the overall cleanliness of the room. The front desk receptionist inspected and did take notes, but only stated that the manager would get back to me. Two weeks later, I have not heard from the hotel manager.

There was a 100% satisfaction guarantee posted on the wall behind the front desk, but the hotel refused to give a discount or even discuss the policy. In fact, when I asked if the receptionist could read this policy to me, she stated "you can read it for yourself."

A few of the items that impacted our stay:

In the hallway the light fixtures did not have any covers and were hanging by the electrical wires. This didn't look safe.

The soap holder was broken off and exposed rusty metal in shower. This definitely wasn't safe.

The chairs were extremely dirty - we did not want to sit on the chairs.

The light fixture that was in the room was broken and had a large piece missing.

The TV remote control was held together by a lot of clear tape.

The telephone message button was flashing constantly and a piece of white tape was put over it to cover this flashing (you can still see it in the dark). Apparently the messaging unit isn't working.

In the breakfast area there was at least one electrical outlet without a cover, exposing the live electrical circuit.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

I stayed here on a business trip and found the place to be great value for the money. It was clean, comfortable and being set back from the road there was very little noise. Plenty of good places to eat in the area too.

  • Liked — No noise
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

I stayed here for a weekend at the end of August 2007 with my daughter. The location was perfect for what we had planned(shopping & the zoo). Sure the rooms are not like what you would find at a Hilton but then neither is the price. I found the room to be clean and did the trick as all we were looking for was a place to sleep. The hotel is within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and the free breakfast was quite good. There were many items to choose from such as cereal, toast, muffins, pasteries, fresh fruit, made-to-order waffles, coffee, juice & milk. The other great thing about this hotel is that it is back off the street so it is quiet. Would I stay here again...yes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

I took my chance inspite of the bad reviews and I never regretted it. My room was spotlessly clean and the bed was a wonderful surprise. I never expected that they heve these kind of beds which I usually get mostly in Marriots and Sheratons. There were some snags like the leaking ice machine and my busted coffee maker but I can live with that. The best thing about this inn is the location. My tip to those planning to book a hotel in Lynnwood is that if you want to be near restaurants and groceries Comfort Inn would be the best choice and If its shopping stay at the Hampton.
Lest I forget the front desk staff were extremely helpful and the free breakfast was filling. Always a bonus to have a 24 hour free computer at the lobby.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — carpetting
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

I've stayed at this Hotel/Motel about 3 times over the past few years. It started as a Holiday Inn Express. I love the location, right behind the Olive Garden, and Red Lobster. Also a minute to walk to REI and Fred Meyers - all great if that is why you are in Lynnwood.

The positives are the breakfast, free internet, parking close to your room and again, the location. Othert han that, the place has gone down-hill. The room we stayed in was filthy dirty - the carpet had a stain that was the size of a body. The hallway carpeting is absolutely disqusting. I was so freaked out by the cleanliness that I tossed the creepy dirty bedspread over the body shaped stain on the floor.

This is a place that needs a facelift. With all the competition in the neighbourhood, I would not stay or recommend this place again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty, dirty, dirty
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

I've stayed twice at this hotel in the past 30 days while in the area for classes at Edmonds Community College. The first stay was a single night, the next was for 3 nights. I asked for and received the AAA rate (I am a member), and they are an Alaska Air mileage plan partner. My rate was the same for both weekday nights and weekends.

Don't worry about that other review, this place is fine. And I liked the fact that it's off the main street (196th) so it's quieter. The rooms are clean. The bathroom area was clean, and was stocked with soaps, shampoo and lotion. The cable TV included Showtime and a gazillion other channels. There is free wireless internet access, and the Seattle newspaper was outside the door each morning.

The breakfast is adequate, includes make-your-own waffles (not frozen), hard-boiled eggs (gotta have that protein), pastries and muffins, cereals, juices, fruit (huge apples) and coffee. There are also vending machines around the area.

Restaurants are plentiful nearby, including fast food if that's your thing. I ate at the Tony Roma's just down the street.

In comparing prices via phone before my stay I'd say this is about the best value you'll see in the area. They have a summer frequent stay program that was just about to start (June 1 I think) that you can earn a $50 gas card.

I'll be staying at this place any time I need to be in the area again.

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood

Address: 4117 196th Street SW, Lynnwood, WA 98036-6716
Location: United States > Washington > Lynnwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Lynnwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood Hotel Lynnwood
Comfort Inn Lynnwood
Lynnwood Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Seattle-Lynnwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.