We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiter Itched His Butt” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Ranchito

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchito
8138 Guide Meridian Rd, Lynden, WA 98264-9421
360-354-8388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 51 Restaurants in Lynden
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waiter Itched His Butt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our experience was horrific. The waiter was creepy and kept asking if we were ready to order, and our menus were still opened and we told him we needed longer. I asked for a glass of white wine, they dont have any, so i ask for a glass of red wine, they dont have any either. So i ask for a margarita, and the waiter brings it to me in literally 23 seconds. Obviously it was from a machine and it was so bitter and undrinkable. We order and my boyfriend goes to the bathroom and sees the waiter in the back area itching and digging in his butt with a full hand. He didnt tell me this until we left or i would not have eaten, but i did eat and the tortillas were crunchy/stale, the carne asada was blah. We went home and were sick in a weird way for a couple days, i wont get into details but we will never, ever go back here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    7
    5
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mexican food at its finest, very authentic. We love it here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

El Ranchito is one of our favorite places to go for authentic Mexican food. My Hubby & I love the Sizzling Beef Fajitas. We get the Fajitas for 2 & always have plenty of food. We also love the Pico de Gallo that is brought to your table with chips. The staff is very friendly & the owner treats us like family. Great place for a table for 2, but can handle larger groups as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington, United States
1 review
“Bland!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food is SO bland! And extremely overpriced for what you get. Burritos consisted of meat wrapped in a tortilla. If you're looking for a good Mexican restaurant (excellent in food, service, and price), try Chihuahua's in Ferndale.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Chips came with both salsa and pico gallo and the food was well prepared. Prices are reasonable. Service is very nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

with Mexican places ( and food trucks all over the landscape ) El Ranchito is a stand out - I always judge by the chicken fajitas and they'res are supreme - plus they do something others do not - they give you a set of tongs to stir your fajitas with when the sizzling stops the entire plate is cooked to a tee - they also bring you pico da gallo without having to ask them - good all over !!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ranchito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.