We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly place to stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lynden / Bellingham KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lynden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lynden / Bellingham KOA
Save Saved
You added Lynden / Bellingham KOA to your Saves list
8717 Line Road, Lynden, WA 98264   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Clean and friendly place to stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We camped here in a tent site up on the "hill". The site was a good size and completely shaded, and set back away from the crowded RV spots. They really pack 'em in this place! Every inch of the campground is jammed with RV's. The grounds are kept clean though, and the restrooms were spotless. Biggest complaint was the pool. It is so small!! There were so many people in it we would not have dreamed of going in. I can't believe the maximum capacity was not exceeded. It was a hot weekend and we were very disappointed to find that we could not take advantage of the pool. It was one of the reasons we chose a KOA over a state park. We could have paid $20 less somewhere else. Huge bummer. Overall a pleasant stay but will not go back due to the pool situation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I will start with the 2 bad things.......1st the dumping station is beside the playground???? What were you thinking there? 2nd, not enough washrooms.........ok now the rest will be short and sweet.......We are Canadians and discovered KOA on our trip to Washington State.......I can not say enough about this one!! The grounds were so well kept and clean........The duck ponds were my favourite thing and I know we will return to this beautiful area.......thank you!

Room Tip: all sites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had heard great things about the Lynden KOA and was excited to go there. Our stay started off poorly from the start.

The first thing we noticed when we arrived at our site was there was no fire pit. Not necessarily a big deal but it would've been nice to be told that ahead of time so we could make arrangements for one. When we inquired at the office we were told our only option was to find an empty site (if there was one) and use that when we needed.

Secondly, the staff assigned us to a site that was meant for a trailer without slides and probably under 27ft long. Needless to say our 31ft trailer with 2 slides was an extremely tight fit and even though we did our best not to encroach on the sites on either side of us the ropes for our pop up canopy were over by a couple of inches on one side. A fact that a staff member quite rudely brought to our attention. If we were on a site appropriate for our trailer it would've been a non-issue.

There is one off leash dog area which is great, except for the fact that it also doubles as visitor/overflow parking and is used by everyone else for bike riding, kite flying, etc. So really there is no where that you can run your dogs.

Some of the public amenities were less than par. The mini golf course needs a lot of work, the pond is chock full of weeds that makes it difficult when using the paddle boats and the public showers were filthy. The showers were "closed for cleaning" from 11:00-12:00. Imagine my surprise when I arrived at 12:00, expecting to find a clean shower stall, and I walk into one that has lumps of hair on the floor! I'm not talking about a few strands, I mean wads! The light fixtures were full of dead bugs and obviously hadn't been cleaned for sometime.

I'm surprised to see that this KOA has won the President's Choice Award. I will definitely not recommend this campsite or camp there again. We stayed at the KOA Grandy Creek about 3 weeks prior and had a wonderful time. The difference was incredible. Recommend Grandy Creek? Absolutely!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lynden hotels

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lacks five stars because the sewage dump is right next to the kids playground. Nasty. Also given the amount of kabins on this KOA site they need to set up some two room Kabins or lodges. The press down water faucets in bathrooms were annoying and inconvenient. Otherwise, the pool area, bathrooms, and general layout was very clean well maintained. This KOA is only minutes from the border and served as an affordable lodging as we visited Vancouver.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at the Lynden KOA for the first time last summer, and i MUST say, the staff here (mostly teenagers) are GREAT! We met the sweetest "cleaning girl" (I think her name was Kayla?) who helped my son find our campsite, and played with him while she was on her dinner break. She'd always ask if there was anything she could do for us or if we had any questions. My husband and I seriously wanted to adopt her as one of our own. They have a cafe, filled with locally made ice cream and other good treats! Everyone is so friendly here, it's the perfect little get away. The ONLY complaint i have is the bathrooms could get a little unclean, but with the mass amounts of people they have, I can understand. Great job Lynden KOA!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Lynden KOA staff really makes each person welcome, not just the regulars who keep coming back year after year. Facilities are very clean and the hard-working staff are constantly on the move maintaining the restrooms and showers. Showers are open all night for night owls. There are peddle boats and mini-golf at the main building overlooking the lake, a cafe for when you are too bushed to cook or you want to treat the kids to an ice cream or sno cone. The kids love the arcade area, which is a boon when the weather is crappy. A clean nice-sized pool is a draw for everyone and has some adult-only times (ahhhhhh). You can have your propane tank filled, buy ice and firewood, and even buy useful things like burger buns, smores ingredients, milk and booze at the convenience store. Prices are reasonable, too.

Weekends with holidays have special events, like this BC day weekend, the Lynden KOA has a movie night, BBQ, tractor rides, Hawaiian-themed all ages dance, and bingo! Safeway is only about 10 minute drive away, and Bellis Fair Mall (hello, teenagers) is less than a 30 minute drive.

Sometimes, at such campgrounds where regulars return year after year, there is some snobbery from the "veteran" campers, but my kids and I have never experienced that in the 5 years we have been visiting the Lynden KOA.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Have been staying there for years. Good people running the place. Kids love it, especially the fishing and paddle boats. Pool is small and washrooms get dirty fast when it's busy. Good for young families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lynden / Bellingham KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynden / Bellingham KOA

Address: 8717 Line Road, Lynden, WA 98264
Location: United States > Washington > Lynden
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lynden
Number of rooms: 170
Also Known As:
Lynden / Bellingham Koa Hotel Lynden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynden / Bellingham KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.