We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sandwiches and salads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuthouse Grill

Nuthouse Grill
8874 Bender Rd, Ste 109, Lynden, WA 98264-8550
360-318-0588
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #32 of 51 restaurants in Lynden
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Winfield
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stopped here on our way from Abbotsford to Seattle. Friendly service and good sandwiches. Loved the peanuts-you can throw the shells on the floor. We would definitely go back for another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    3
    5
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynden, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK, but not really special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten here many times over the years. The menu seems somewhat limited and the prices have climbed considerably and seem high for what you get. The service has generally been good, but the food quality has been erratic, sometimes great and sometimes not very good. It appears that the steaks are the best when the owner was cooking. Ordering a medium steak can result in anything from rare to dry and overcooked. Sometimes the steaks have seemed like they have been mechanically tenderized until there is no moisture left in them so they seem dry and tasteless. They serve peanuts in the shell at the tables to snack on and the hot buns are generally very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food at the Nuthouse Grill is quite average while the price is a little high. We had to wait quite a long time for service. Definitely not our favorite place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Buffet - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our most recent visit here was for their reasonably priced Thanksgiving Buffet, with young-adult relatives from Canada. The peanuts-on-the-floor theme was appropriately absent for the occasion (although we find it kind of fun & not "dusty" as one reviewer mentioned). Food selection was varied, delectable and beautifully home-cooked; and someone had gone to the trouble of putting up some autumn leaf-type decorations which helped make the atmosphere warmer and more inviting than is the norm here. Customer service was noticeably friendlier than usual; and we appreciated the obvious effort in that regard. If they could sustain that level of service on a day-to-day basis, what a difference it would make! One suggestion: feature the white meat first and dark meat a little further along, so the latter can last longer. (I saw only the dark at first, so that's what I took, even though I'd have been content with the white). Lastly, we appreciated the fact of the buffet; and sincerely thank most especially the cook -- but all of the staff -- for helping make our Thanksgiving Day very pleasant! 5 stars for all of you; and we hope you'll do the same next Thanksgiving!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't go wrong!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Such a fun place to bring the family, and EXCELLENT food. Their 'theme' is peanuts and you get to throw the shells on the ground. It's a crunchy walk to the table, but kids LOVE it and they're good about sweeping throughout the day (so it isn't unclean). Their steaks are incredible and their mashed potatoes are mouth watering!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuthouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Nuthouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuthouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.