We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Casino

Northwoods Casino
9750 Northwood Road, Lynden, WA 98264
360.734.5101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Attractions in Lynden
Attraction details
Rainier, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice little casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I'm not sure how another TA reviewer could call this place "shabby", I'm wondering if they are actually thinking of this casino's older sister casino south of this one. Anyway, this is far from shabby, it looks relatively new to me. It was clean and fairly empty on the Tuesday night we went. It is a small casino so you shouldn't expect a lot of slots, but the ones I played paid well enough for me to have some fun and not leave totally broke (which is my usual MO, unfortunately). I have to say the buffet was the worst I have ever seen. I like TA reviewer, "Slugbuglady", thought of asking for a refund after surveying the dried out offerings on the buffet, but didn't and left extremely unhappy. My companion and I were discussing how horrible the food was, it really looked as though it had set there for hours, almost everything was dried out and really not edible. The salad bar was paltry and some of the condiments were actually frozen, i.e. kidney beans and cucumbers. They did not keep the foods stocked so there were empty food pans left on the line. The desserts were kept too cold and were dry and tired looking. I thought I'd be okay with the soft serve ice cream (what could they do to that?) but it also was horrible, yellow and freezer burned (?); I don't know what exactly happened to it but it was not good. Seriously think twice before you eat at this place we were sorry we didn't try "Chef's" the casino restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Falls, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food and good times.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

been coming to the northwood casino for a very long time now. don't always win, but at least i can play for sometime before my limit is reached. the food at chefs is always great, service can be better at times. the only thing i find that could use some help there is there floor service, hard to get a drink at time. i hate getting up from a hot machine to get a drink!!!!.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Terrible, shabby, tired little place -not fun”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The atmoshpere is dim
The food is absolutely the worst and
the prices were outrageous.
We wasted our time - not to be repeated
Staff and managment (if there is actually is any) are down
right miserable and jaded - the questions is WHY???!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“i wanted to leave”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have never surveyed a buffet and seriously considered asking for a refund after viewing the offering. After tasting what I did put on my plate, i realized I should have listened to that inner voice. I left hungry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place to donate money to the Nooksack indian tribe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are no table games here only slots. It's a good place to kill a few hours and if your lucky come out ahead but most likely you will be supporting the Nooksack indian tribe! The staff is very friendly and will answer any questions you may have. On tuesdays they have two dollar buffett, but be prepared to wait up to an hour or more as it is very popular among the local community!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwoods Casino also viewed

 

Been to Northwoods Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.