We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BelleWood Acres

BelleWood Acres
6140 Guide Meridian, Lynden, WA 98264
360-318-7720
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #5 of 8 attractions in Lynden
Type: Farms
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome to our Farm, Store & Distillery! We are open year-round and host many special events and festivals throughout the year. Check our website for a complete listing of events. Apples and Cider We have twenty apple varieties to delight the most discerning palates. From the early varieties, to the last ones picked, we harvest at the peak of flavor. Come and taste the difference freshness makes.Artisan DistilleryOur spirits are hand crafted in small batches from the finest farm products Washington has to offer. From our own orchard at to locally grown berries from our neighbors, to the fine grains of Washington, premium quality products in our stills means premium quality in your glass. Tasting room open daily and tours offered every weekend.Bistro & BakeryThe BelleWood Bistro features light breakfast and lunch menus that include homemade soups, salads, sandwiches, delicious treats, apple cider donuts & fruit/cheese plates. We also serve beer, wine, ciders and cocktails using spirits made in our distillery.
Alpine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My girlfriend brought me here for lunch. First we had a tasting of Vodkas. The guy at the bar was very knowledgable and friendly. Then we tasted apples and peanut butter. (yum!) After we enjoyed the gift shop, we decided to have a little lunch. I had a cup of chili that was the best I've had in a very long time. Just the right amount of spice with onions and cheese on top. The corn muffin was the perfect size. All in all it was a very fun afternoon!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“They are still working the bugs out of the system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went on the BelleWood Acres distillery tour this weekend. The guy who gave the tour was great, knew a lot about distilling. He had us taste things in all sorts of stages of the process (oddly enough by sticking our finger in and licking it!). The formal tasting room was great too! I liked seeing how things transformed to the flavors that they are in the bottle.

However, we spend $10 on the tour and then $30 on a bottle of brandy. Then we wanted to go out to the apple trees to look/pick and they wanted us to spend another $3 to do that. It felt a lot like they were nickel-and-diming us. When we asked if the "train" to the apples was included in the tour, we were told no, even though the website implies otherwise. (It is supposed to be a "farm to bottle" tour.) This left a bad taste in what was otherwise a great experience with the farm.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fla
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Distillery tour not as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Here's how the BelleWood web site describes the the "farm to glass" distillery tour: "This NEW tour includes a ride through the apple orchard to learn about our agricultural practices and what makes our spirits so special. Tour the distillery to learn the distillation process and enjoy a private tasting."

Here's what the "tour", which costs $10 each, actually entails: Walking into the warehouse where the distillery is housed (and which is visible from large windows next to the bar at no cost) and standing around for an hour listening to the (very engaging) distiller explain the process. You do get a chance to dip your fingers into various vats and taste and the distiller was very interesting, but it's not exactly a tour.

Here's what's NOT included: "a ride through the apple orchard" -- nope, they will charge you $3 extra a head for that, even if you just spent $10 on the tour and another $30 buying liquor. "a private tasting" -- a tasting yes, but it's in the same bar as everyone else can go and you get exactly the same tastings that you can just walk into the place and have for free.

If you are a serious brewing/distilling geek, the $10 might be worth it to be up close and have more time. But virtually everyone else would be better off just sitting at the bar, viewing the equipment from about 10 feet away and enjoying a free tasting while asking your questions of whoever is serving at the bar.

The rest of the place (cafe, store, picnic tables, "train" (ie wooden carts attached to a tractor) to the orchards) is fine, and would make a nice stop if you're in the area, even if only for the stunning view of Mount Baker from the back. But not worth going out of your way for at all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs better organization...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently went to Bellewood Acres for the Easter Egg Hunt. While we have been there many times prior for the great food and of course the apples, this experience was horrible. Clearly they didn't anticipate how many people would show up, and their lack of organization was not only apparent but overwhelming bad.

Advertised train rides, egg hunt and photo ops with the Easter Bunny were a nice thought but soon turned into families standing in line for hours to get on a train for a specific time, and when it was finally their turn they would run out of space on the trains and have to stand in line for another hour, or told they could walk out to the Easter Egg hunt themselves, really that was a solution, after standing for an hour and paying $7 for a ticket. Was the staff selling tickets for times that I guess they were just making up as they went along?? I personally walked with my 2 year old out to the egg hunt (which by the way wasn't a short jaunt) only to make it there after the trains and no eggs left for my child to hunt for. The gift bags had a few small pieces of candy and an activity book, very disappointing.

Food service, we ordered a simple peanut butter and jelly sandwich and waited almost an hour for them to make it. No wonder kids were having melt downs and parents were all stressed out,it was just pure chaos the entire time we were there.

If you plan on hosting any future public events please consider a professional event coordinator.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A small town in Northwest Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch recently at Bellewood and it was a delicious apple, curry, and chicken soup. They have a wide variety of apple based foods, cheeses and desserts to sample. You can also taste at their distillery including apple vodka. When warmer you you can tour the apple orchards. They are famous for their fall honeycrisp apples. This is there new store front on Meridian and less then a year old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BelleWood Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BelleWood Acres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.