We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class food served in an intimate northwest setting, water and island views, charming rooms, a real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Willows Inn
Save Saved
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World class food served in an intimate northwest setting, water and island views, charming rooms, a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Willows Inn one night to celebrate my birthday. We participated in a package which included one night stay, 5 course prix fixe dinner, and breakfast. This was the perfect one day getaway from Seattle. We enjoyed a short beach walk, outdoor hot tub in pleasant private setting, and BEST DINNER WE'VE HAD IN AGES!
Their new chef was sous chef at a restaurant in Copenhagen that was recently voted the best restaurant in the world! The emphasis on fresh ingredients (from their organic farm) and fresh flavors in the meal preparation was beyond words. We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
98
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Extraordinary in every way with every detail, food, drink, staff, clean, ambiance, quality , perfection all day long.
Thanks
Hard to please Breffni
Breffni

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to the historic Willows Inn. We participated in one of the inn's wine dinners, which offer a fantastic value for a very superior experience. Riley and Judy, the owners, offer a monthly wine dinner for most of the year. These dinners pair wineries and chefs from throughout the Pacific Northwest in wonderful gustatory celebrations with an emphasis on "slow food". The chefs also offer a chance for guests to work and learn with them in the Willows Inn kitchen. Chef Holly Smith from Cafe Juanita, one of our favorite Seattle-area restaurants, and the Lange family from Lange Family winery in Dundee, Oregon, provided us with a lovely dining experience on February 25th. Included in the wine dinners are lodging and breakfast, in addition to the five-course dinner with wine. It's a real bargain for what you get, let me tell you!

My husband and I stayed at the cabin at Judy and Riley's Nettles Farm. Much of the produce, herbs, eggs, pigs, and chickens grown and raised here provide ingredients for the Willows Inn dining room. It was very quiet at the cabin, except for the rooster who decided that dawn was approaching at 4 am :-) The setting on Lummi Island is magical, and the inn has a stupendous view. The inn's accommodations are quite comfortable, but the star here is the cuisine and the warm hospitality of Riley Starks and Judy Olsen and their staff. I felt that I had a glimpse into a way of life that has passed away. I recommend a visit to the Willows Inn website, which provides a lot of comprehensive information about the inn, Lummi Island, and all the activities available for a relaxing vacation in the beautiful San Juan Islands.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I had to pull weeds to the entrance of our Farm House Suite.(they had grown that high). I would have thought someone would have noticed this. Our floors could have used a little cleaning. The bed was comfortable but they really could use some art work on the bedroom walls. The food was good, not great. The breakfast was just placed in front of me without any explanation, a cold lettuce salad served for breakfast?#? Not sure about this one. It would have been nice to be asked if we wanted what they were serving. The Saturday night dinner was nice, but took way to long for my husband and I. On a positive note, the view is great. On Sunday morning I notice the bathroom in the main building really needed serving, waste paper basket still full from the night before, the cut flowers needed replacing. (the old water in the vase started to smell) The soap holder really needed to be washed. Attention to details are missing. Sorry, I really can't recommend this place @ $230. a night. :( I wish we hadn't spent the money!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I loved the Willows Inn!! We stayed in the Sunset Room and enjoyed the view of the water from the window. The room is small and somewhat rustic, however, it is quaint and very clean. It is the vibe at the Inn that is most memorable. From the organic farm that supports their restaurant, to the fresh, healthy, organic breakfasts, accommodating staff, and water views - there is not much more you could ask for. If you stay at the Inn, definitely make dinner reservations at least one night. It is the best dinner I have ever eaten. Most (if not all) of the food comes from their garden and from local farmers and is carefully prepared in a way that compliments the fresh flavors of each ingredient.

Lummi Island is a hidden gem in the San Juan Islands - not touristy, just a quiet place where locals visit. Lummi Island and the Willows Inn are the perfect combination!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

A great getaway. We rented out the whole place for a 25-person spring wedding, and were extremely happy with everything about Willows. Lummi is a quiet island -- not a lot going on... but if you want to escape the paparazzi this is a perfect spot: it is a very attractive and well run little inn that never feels stuffy or formal. The views are great, the rooms have a variety of sizes and styles, some are perfect for larger families or groups of couples, all are comfortable and worth staying in. on my first visit i was a little annoyed that it is five steps from the road, but after a few hours i realized about two slow cars go by every hour, so it may as well be a sidewalk. The owner-operators were fantastic to work with. The dining room is beautiful (as is the porch), and, then, there is the food: it is simply spectacularly fresh and tasty and well prepared, without being showy. The little bar in the garden basement is comfy and serves good beer and food, too. A really great spot, a bit off the beaten path, but very well worth it if you want some peace and quiet and some of the best dinners in the northwest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We skiied Mt. Baker and then took the ferry to Lummi Island and the Willows Inn gave us spectacular vistas of Rosario Strait.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;